14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Harriers host successful Laganside 10k

Battle of the Lord Mayors
Battle of the Lord Mayors

It was that time of the year again with the North Belfast Harriers club putting on their annual Laganside event. As per usual this was a smoothly run event coordinated by Matt Shields and had runners out in their droves with almost 700 in the adult event and well over a hundred in the new kids mile event.

Conditions were perfect for running with only a slight wind and cloud overhead meaning the temperature was perfect and as well as coordinating the event the harriers were out in force with some great results.

In the main event up front the harriers packed tightly having some great battles in the process. Eamon White and Connor Magill had a great battle for 4th with Eamon winning out in 32:30 closely followed by Connor who’s still coming back from injury in 32:35. Behind them Adam Boyd and Conor Curran were stride for stride until the latter stages with Adam eventually winning out in 6th running 33:19 followed by Conor in 33:31.

In 11th place waterworks park runner Brendan Grew knocked a large chunk of his PB running 34:08 finished ahead of Andrew Considine who finished 15th in 34:48. Next up were four harriers all taking PBs with John McGuigan running 36:14, Laurence Johnston 36:17 ,John Black smashing his PB by three minutes in 36:19 and Niall Farquarhson running a large PB in 36:49.

and they're off
and they’re off

Arran Ruttledge ran his best time for tears finishing in 37:49, John Patience made a long awaited comeback to racing in 38:09 and Sean McShane ran a sub 39 running a new PB in the process finishing in 38:47.

The next up were the sub 40 chasers. Michael McCormick ran his first sub 40 in 39:10, Martin Cox continued to show great improvement running his first sub 40 in 39:15 closely followed by Claire Prenter who broke 40 for the 2nd time running a new PB in 39:15, pipping the recovering from injury Joe Norney who finished up in 39:19. Philip Donnelly followed closely behind beating his PB in the process to finish in 39:31.  Gerry Gribbon and Mark Shields just missed out finishing up in 40:18 and 40:21 respectively(Mark running a PB in the process)  pipping young harrier Conor McQuillan who finished up in 40:26. New recruit Ray Cameron ran a PB in 40:34.

email_-2456Athanasia Sevastaki continued her good form running a new PB in 42:37, Reg Kapur ran 42:40, John Burns ran a new PB in 44:06 and 70 year old Jack Carberry had a great run beating his PB to run 45:14, Andrew Harding 46:43 just pipping the Lord Mayor in the process.

Junior Eamon Sheridan ran 47:34, Siobhan Drain 48:43, junior Piaras McShane 51:02, Steven Thompson 51:35, Lynn McCullough 51:58, Sean McShane junior 53:58, young Lauren Cox 54:58, Rioghnach Catney 54:58, Mary Reid 56:01, Kerry McShane 58:36. Also running well just outside the hour were Kerrie Thompson 1:00:11, Thomas McKinstry 1:00:43, Jansje LeMaheu-Lamb 1:07:57, Joanne McCorry-Nicholl 1:10:52, Christine Douglas 1:11:56  and  Denise Rooney 1:13:45.

Photos can be found here

Kids 1 mile race

email_-4714The big success of the day was the newly introduced kids 1 mile race with 148 children running and more importantly enjoying themselves.

Tony McCambridge was first over the line in 5:30 closely followed by Damien Marquess taking 2nd in 5:51. Running just over the 6 minute barrier Kelvin Kearney ran well finishing in 6:17, behind him Rioghnach Catney and Katie McCambridge had a good battle for 6:45 and 6:47 respectively. Patrick McShane finished in 6:49, Bryanna Catney 6:54.

Just over the 7 minutes were Lucia McGibbon in 7:04, Aine Neilan 7:26, Sean Neilan 7:28 and Aaron McCann 7:44.

Just over the 8 minutes Charlotte Willis finished in 8:15, Erin Harding 9:14, Niall Kerr 10:07.



1150942_10151856071572889_1423106490_nAt the silent valley on saturday Mark McKinstry continued his great form to win the challenging 10k run in 37:48.

In the 10 mile race Amanda Perry finished 2nd lady in 1:11:42.

NIMA track championships

Saturday saw the annual NI masters track championships taking place at the Mary Peters track with Paul Jenkins the sole harrier taking part. In the 1500 metres Paul ventured into new territory taking 2nd male 40 in the race just breaking the 5 minute barrier in the process running 4:59.

In the shot putt new recruit James McClean took part in the M65 category winning gold in 11.07 metres.

Killyleagh 5 mile

Stevie Walker and Barry Reid made the journey for the annual Killyleagh 5 miler with both making the top ten. Stevie finished 5th in 29:38 and Barry made tenth in 30:35.

Breege wins in Sligo

In the challenging warriors 15k race down in SligoBreege Connolly won in 1:03:06. Michael Fitzpatrick also made the journey having a strong race to finish 13th in 1:02:25.

McCambridges on tour

The McCambridge family again had a successful week in the Donegal 5k races. In Milford on Friday night Conal had a superb race smashing his PB for 16:48 taking 7th place overall and 1st in his category. Ita McCambridge also ran finishing in 22:36.

On Sunday in Portsalon it was a bumper day where Conal continued his fine form winning in 17:31 with dad Paddy also making the podium taking 3rd in 21:12 and mum Ita was 1st woman across the line in 25:03.

Derek 1st 55 in Birmingham

In the little Aston 5 over in Birmingham Derek Donaghy continued his good form for first M55.


With the Laganside 10k taking place the parkruns were somewhat quieter than usual. Results are included below:

Ormeau Park

1st Martin Rea 18:13

9th Paul Williams 21:20

14th Damian Marquess 21:56

57th John Marquess 26:52


1st Simon Reeve 17:48

5th Gerry Gribbon 20:21

7th John Murphy 20:38

11th Patrick McShane 20:55

16th Thomas Reid  21:53

17th  Jack Carberry 21:58

27th Eamon Sheridan 23:00

36th Nuala Muldoon 23:41

52nd Matt Shields 24:55

55th Roisin Hughes 25:12

59th John O’Hare 25:18

75th MaryRingland 26:26

78th Jason Reid 26:41

92nd Odhran Catney  27:25

97th Conor O’Rawe 27:41

117th John Burns 29:52

136th Tina Haggan 33:27

137th Aaron McCann 33:29

144th Kilian Woods 34:37


12th Helen Weir 21:50

26th Claire Prenter 25:56

27th Philip Donnelly 25:56

31st Ciaran Hunter 25:58

Mile End

18th Greg McClure 20:02