14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Sharon Trimble Bird Wins Bronze on the World Stage

trimble at worldsSharon Trimble Bird helped capture a bronze medal for Ireland at the World Mountain Running Championships in Krynica-Zdroj, Poland, on Sunday. The Irish women rode strong performances from Sarah McCormack (6th place – 44:23), Kate Cronin (18th place – 46:11), Sarah Mulligan (27th place – 46:24) and Sharon (52nd — 50:12) to stake their claim to the prize behind Italy and Great Britain.

The 9.08 km course was an ‘Anglo-Saxon’ style up and down affair rather than a ‘Continental’ style uphill only route. It included 561m of ascent.

It was a courageous run for Sharon, who has battled injury problems for the last two years. It was only her second race this year, after having gone without racing for a year and a half. This bodes well for many more good performances to come from Sharon and the Irish mountain running women.

(Photo, left to right: Cronin, Trimble, McCormack, Mulligan)

Simon Reeve Third in Titanic 101K

reeve2Simon Reeve put in a courageous run at the Titanic 101 km Ultra Race on Sunday, finishing third in 9.32.51. Traversing a route from the Titanic Quarter in Belfast to Ballywalter, Simon led for much of the race before being overtaken by experienced ultra runners Nicki McPeake (9:24:42) and Tim Brownlie (9:30:21).

In the accompanying 50k event, Kent Swann placed 11th in 4.47.25.

Waterside Half Marathon

The Harriers also put in some solid performances at the Waterside Half Marathon in Derry on Sunday, led by Conor Curran’s 9th place overall, third in the V35 category, in 1.14.32, just four seconds shy of his personal best.

He was supported by Andrew Considine (10th in 1.17.00), Laurence Johnston (1.21.09, 25th overall and 1st in the V55 category), Gareth Grew (1.22.35), Sean McShane (1.28.44), Greg McClure (1.30.37), Mark Shields (1.35.14), Patrick McShane (1.39.52) and Roisin Hughes (1.42.55).

The race was the last in the Pure Running Half Marathon Series and it is likely that some Harriers scooped some age group awards for the series. We’ll let you know when the series prizes are released.


watersideThere were the usual Parkruns, highlighted by junior athlete Connor McQuillan’s win in the Ecos Parkun in 18.16.


7 Brendan GREW 00:18:45

9 Simon REEVE 00:19:22

11 Gerry GRIBBON 00:19:41
12 Martin Joseph COX 00:19:58
14 Tony MCNULTY 00:20:18
15 Tony MC CAMBRIDGE 00:20:24
16 Ray CAMERON 00:20:25
20 Thomas REID 00:21:37
25 Greg MCCLURE 00:22:08
28 Andrew MILLIGAN 00:22:10
34 Laurence JOHNSTON 00:23:12
36 Piaras MCSHANE 00:23:25
50 Sean MCSHANE JR 00:24:48
54 John Gerard MURPHY 00:25:11
57 Lauren COX 00:25:13
58 Matt SHIELDS 00:25:14
61 John O’HARE 00:25:26
63 Marian HAYES 00:25:35
67 Conor O’RAWE 00:26:15
69 Patrick MCSHANE 00:26:28
73 Mary RINGLAND 00:27:08
86 Louise SMITH 00:28:25
99 Tina HAGGAN 00:31:07
109 Nora CURRAN 00:34:44
123 Norman John PATTERSON 00:43:49


1 Connor Ashley MCQUILLAN 00:18:16
8 Mark SHIELDS 00:20:18


2 Martin REA 00:17:55
8 Gerard MCNAMARA 00:18:57


14 Ciaran HUNTER 00:26:31
21 Drew CRAWFORD 00:30:00


23 Paul WILLIAMS 00:21:09


13 Jim CLINTON 00:25:09


3 John PATIENCE 00:19:06

Walsall Arboretum

7 Derek DONAGHY 00:18:49