14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Gladys Gets Glasgow Standard


It’s another great weekend of racing for the club with multiple podiums, pbs and impressive performances.


First up is Gladys Ganiel O’Neil. Gladys is the woman of the moment as she secured a new personal best over the marathon distance as well as bagging herself the Commonwealth standard for her efforts. Gladys, who has been training extensively for this exact moment, paced the race superbly having almost perfect 5K splits over the course and crossed the line 2:39:23 winning the Vet35 category as well as finishing as the 13th female position overall. This performance will now give Gladys the required standard to compete in the 2014 Commonwealth games in Glasgow meaning that the Harriers will have two competitors who will compete in the marathon event next year. I’m sure we can all appreciate how hard it is to reach this high standard and we congratulate Gladys for her hard work and effort over the last year.

Gladys was not the only Harrier to make their way over to world record course. Greg McClure once again proved his calibre by cruising through the course in an excellent paced time of 3:09:52 running a 2 minute negative split in the second half of the race finishing 39th in his age category and 2585th place overall. Jason Reid was the final Harrier to toe the line. Jason set a new PB for the distance in a time of 4:27:58 improving on his time from this year’s Belfast marathon.


Causeway Coast

On Saturday the 26 Extreme Causeway Coast multi-race event took place on the North coast under almost ideal conditions. Most of the clubs entrants were in the half-marathon event which was won by Marc Jennings who crossed the line after brushing off the competition in the final stretch of the race. Marc who joined the club this year finished in 1:30:49, 30 seconds ahead of the next competitor. The ever-improving Martin Cox crossed the line next in 10th position in a time of 1:43:34 followed by Paul Williams 46th in 1:56:29 and finally Patrick McShane 67th in 2:01:36.

Over the marathon distance another podium place was secured with Helen Weir finishing in 2nd position in a time of 4:34:55 in 24th position overall an extremely impressive time over the extremely difficult course. Sean McShane toed the line as the sole male Harrier. Sean who has entered almost every race this year, proved his talent by finishing an impressive 10th position for his first attempt over this course in a time of 4:10:38.

alan-bangorBangor 10k

The largest contingent of this weeks Harriers took part in the record setting Bangor 10k. This race always brings some of the best talent in Northern Ireland and this year was no different. The Harriers put on a good show of strength on the challenging course and secured two podium places with Cathy McCourt taking 2nd place in the ladies race in a time 38:22 finishing in 30th position overall. Alan O’Hara took 3rd place (31:57) in the men’s race, which was won by Paul Pollock. Alan was followed closely by Eamon White in 4th (33:10) and Adam Boyd in 5th (33:42). Finishing just outside the top ten Brendan Grew clocked 35:15 for 11th position. Michael Fitzpatrick finished in 14th position (35:57) followed by Paul Elliott who won the M60 category in 19th position (36:36). Next up was Laurence Johnston in 21st position (36:40), John Patience in 27th position (37:33), Stephen Walker in 44th (39:27), Barry Reid 53rd dipping just under the 40-minute barrier in 39:56, Mark Shields in 73rd (41:11) and finally Athanasia Sevastaki in 107th (43:14).


A good turnout of Harriers at the parkrun events this weekend highlighted by a first finish by Mark McKinstry at the Ecos event.


7th Paul JENKINS 00:18:34


1st Mark MCKINSTRY 00:17:38

2nd Connor Ashley MCQUILLAN 00:18:02


3rd Martin REA 00:17:59

11th John Gerard MURPHY 00:20:15


2nd Philip Patrick DONNELLY 00:20:27

16th Ciaran HUNTER 00:24:25

37th Ciaran LAVERY 00:35:14

38th John LAVERY 00:35:15


109th Drew CRAWFORD 00:30:24


2nd Kent SWANN 00:18:06

4th Simon REEVE 00:18:46

5th James WALLACE 00:18:52

6th Jim BENSON 00:19:01

7th Gerry GRIBBON 00:19:19

16th Ray CAMERON 00:20:05

26th Andrew MILLIGAN 00:22:11

28th Eamon SHERIDAN 00:22:14

30th Jack CARBERRY 00:22:21

38th Roisin HUGHES 00:23:03

40th Piaras MCSHANE 00:23:17

41st Sean MCSHANE JR 00:23:19

44th Niall ARMSTRONG 00:23:27

47th Nuala MULDOON 00:23:37

51st Paula WALLACE 00:23:52

53rd John BURNS 00:23:59

54th Rioghnach CATNEY 00:24:05

61st Conor O’RAWE 00:24:31

68th John O’HARE 00:24:49

71st Odhran CATNEY 00:25:05

76th Patrick MCSHANE 00:25:47

129th Nora CURRAN 00:33:05

136th Bryanna CATNEY 00:34:17

155th Norman John PATTERSON 00:37:00

159th Aaron MCCANN 00:40:17

164th Christine DOUGLAS 00:42:02