14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

McConnell Cup Cross Country

With the road running season drawing to a close, cross country has now emerged  as the main focus of the clubs runners. This Saturday saw the third installment in the Athletics NI Cross Country league with the well established McConnell Shield taking place. This was the first “local” race in the season and a large contingent of Harriers made their way to Ballyclare.

ccgirlsFirst up was the womens race with 16 people taking part which must be one of the highest female attended races this year from the club. Judi Graham led the team home in 8th place followed closely by Claire Prenter in 11th position. Next across the line was Jenifer Bill (31st) and Helen Weir(36th) with both finishing well in their respective age categories. Athanasia Sevastaki performances continues to improve finishing in 46th position. Siobhan Drain was next in 73rd followed by Thelma McCullough in 104th, Lynn McCullough in 108th, Ita McCambridge in 109th, Franky McGivern in 127th, Sandy Carr in 128th, Kerry McShane in 155th, Orfin Crawford  in 157th and Jansje Lamb in 160th. The club  would like to congratulate those racing today for whom it was their first experience of a cross country race or even the first time wearing the club vest . Your participation in each race increases the clubs visibility and chances of securing club category prizes so keep  up the hard work and keep racing!

boysccThe mens race was up next with all age groups aside from the M60 taking part (M60 was ran in conjunction with the female race). The mens race also brought a large turnout with 22 men taking part overall. Alan O’Hara picked up where he left off from last year in the cross country by finishing in 3rd place. Alan led an extremely impressive group of runners for large amount  of the race and was only beaten by the fine margin of 8 seconds. It was an Alan “one two” for the the club as Alan O’Hara was followed by Alan Boyd in 10th position. Next Eamon White secured the M40 category with this 12th place finish overall. Neil Carty was next in 23rd followed by Mark McKinstry in 29th and Edward Cooke in 39th. A man to watch for the future Conner McQuillan crossed the line in 44th followed closely by the Laurence Johnston who secured the second age category win of the day in the M55 category. John Patience was next in 54th just piping Matt Shields 55th by one second (i’m sure John will enjoy that). Mark McCallion was 66th followed by Stephen Walker 84th, Paul Jenkins 89th, Joe Norney 90th, Marin Cox 96th, Robert Irvine 99th, Philip Donnelly 100th, Mark Shields 111th, Patrick McCambridge 127th, John Burns 155th and Steven Thompson in 163rd.

Overall on the day the club secured a great 2nd place overall behind City of Derry Spartans. Well done everyone.


The parkrun train continues with the addition of the Larne event bringing the total number of events to 15. As ever, lots of you took part.


3rd Gerry GRIBBON 00:18:42


1st Connor MAGILL 00:15:55

2nd Peter SAVAGE 00:17:53


7th John Gerard MURPHY 00:20:35

17th Greg MCCLURE 00:22:06

18th Paul WILLIAMS 00:22:07

23rd Matt SHIELDS 00:22:44


3rd Simon REEVE 00:19:02

29th Mark SHIELDS 00:21:41


10th Gerard MCNAMARA 00:19:26

23rd Ciaran HUNTER 00:22:17

31st Kevin LAVERY 00:24:05


285th George WALKER 00:32:14


2nd Michael FITZPATRICK 00:17:45

Walsall Arboretum

2nd Derek DONAGHY 00:18:31


22nd Eamon SHERIDAN 00:21:46

23rd Conor O’RAWE 00:21:48

25th Niall ARMSTRONG 00:21:56

37th Jack CARBERRY 00:22:52

41st John GRIBBIN 00:23:07

43rd Piaras MCSHANE 00:23:11

44th Sean MCSHANE 00:23:12

45th Drew KNOX 00:23:13

46th Nuala MULDOON 00:23:16

57th John O’HARE 00:23:52

60th Roisin HUGHES 00:24:10

78th Catherine MCNICHOLL 00:25:54

79th Jason REID 00:25:55

80 thJohn Michael MARQUESS 00:25:56

131st Nora CURRAN 00:31:27