14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Antrim IAAF International XC

photoThe highlight of the week was the annual IAAF International cross country race held at CAFRE Greenmount Campus in Antrim on Saturday. The race which attracts some of the best international cross country runners to Northern Ireland each year once again had an impressive lineup including the current World cross country champion Japhet Korir (Kenya) and double European cross country champion Fionnuala Britton.

There were Harriers competing in almost every one of the days events but main event was the senior women’s race were the was club tipped as favourites to take the overall prize.  Gladys Ganiel O’Neill led the team home continuing to build on last years great performances with a 18th position overall and 2nd Northern Ireland finisher, she was followed closely by Cathy McCourt in 25th finishing first in the F40 category and then Mary Margaret Meade in 32nd finishing first in the F35 category. Amanda Perry finished as the 4th member of the team in 44th. These strong performance in a tough field were enough for North Belfast Harriers to secure the NI Senior Womens title. Supporting team members Paula Wallace was the next finisher crossing the line in 92nd Thelma McCullough followed in 94th, Frankey McGivern in 104th and Gaberell Mallaghan in 124th.

In the Senior mens race ten Harriers were involved in the action and three age category group wins were collected as well as an overall bronze medal. Andrew Considine was the first club member across the line in 54th position winning the M35 category, followed by Neil Carty in 56th position taking the M45 category also. Next up was Mark McKinstry in 62nd position, Mark Jennings in 64th, Mark McCallion in 90th. Robert Irvine continued his run of good form to taking the M55 category followed by Drew Knox in 107th position, Colin Simpson in 108th position, Greg McClure  in  115th, and Mark Shields in 120th.

In the U13 girls category, Rebecca Wallace finished in 17th position followed by Mollie O’Hare in 27th, Dominique McAllister in 35th, Lorna Muldoon in 46th and Aine Neilan in 47th.

In the U13 boys race Tony McCambridge once again performed well finishing in 7th position overall. Tony was followed by Damian Marquess in 27th position, Piaras McShane in 43rd and Adem Tepe in 51st.

The U15 Girls race was the next of the day and Rioghnach Catney was the first member of the club across the line finishing 28th followed by Maya McCathie in 31st, Katie O’Hare in 34th, Ciara Neilan in 39th, Aine Drain in 44th and Raoisle Hoy in 45th.

The U15 boys race had three Harriers on the start line. Daniel Davison was the first home in 50th position followed by Conor Rawe in 56th, Niall Armstrong in 63rd and Andrew Milligan in 67th.

The male master race was up next. Laurence Johnston continues to perform well in his age category finishing in 8th position overall. John Patience followed behind Laurence finishing in 9th position. James Wallace was next in 12th position and John McConnell completed the roundup finishing 18th overall.

In the Primary School girls race there was a single Harrier in action. Bryanna Catney finished in 19th in the 37 runner strong race. In the boys race Kelvin Kearney put in a great performance to finish 6th position overall.

In the U17 and Junior mens races Conor McQuillan (17)  continues to show great potential by finishing well in a highly contested international field. Conor had a great race and finished in 64th position. Harry Brewstrer was also in action finishing 103rd.

Lough 5

On New Years Eve the Lough 5 mile took place and three Harriers finished 2013 by entering the last race of the year. Cathy McCourt finished the year well by being the first lady across the line in an impressive time of 30:15 and 17th position overall. Paul Elliott finished just ahead of Cathy in 16th position claiming the M60 category in the process in a time of 30:14. Greg McClure was the final entrant from the club and finished in 48th position in a time of 33:35.

Glenariff Run

On New years day the gruelling Glenariff run took place. The course, which takes in many of the beauty points of the valley, includes some steep climbs and challenging terrain. Ciaran Hunter represented the club finishing in 184th under the one hour mark finishing in a time of 57:48. Simon Reeve who has a very successful 2013  also took part in this race but was involved in a nasty accident that prevented him from finishing the race. Everyone at the club wishes him a speedy recovery.


Another busy week for parkrun with over 30 Harriers taking part over the new year period.

Antrim 01/01/2014

8 Paul WILLIAMS 00:20:54

46 Sandy CARR 00:25:29

47 John BURNS 00:25:29

City Park 04/01/2014

4 Alan RITCHIE 00:18:47

Cornwall 04/01/2014

54 Marian HAYES 00:27:34

Falls 04/01/2014

22 Jim CLINTON 00:25:45

Ormeau 04/01/2014

3 Peter MORRISON 00:19:20

11 Reg KAPUR 00:20:26

35 Paul GRUHN 00:23:15

Queens 04/01/2014

3 Martin REA 00:19:37

26 Ciaran HUNTER 00:21:59

Wallace 01/01/2014

1 John MCCONNELL 00:19:14

99 Thomas MCKINSTRY 00:45:00

Waterworks 04/01/2014

1 Conor CURRAN 00:16:55

2 Michael FITZPATRICK 00:17:37

3 Stephen WALKER 00:19:16

4 John MCGUIGAN 00:19:21

5 Sean MCSHANE 00:19:36

6 Joe NORNEY 00:19:37

7 Gerry GRIBBON 00:19:38

8 Paul MCALLISTER 00:19:09

9 John Gerard MURPHY 00:20:13

10 Tony MC CAMBRIDGE 00:19:20

11 Sean MCSHANE 00:19:30

12 Drew KNOX 00:19:35

14 Matt SHIELDS 00:20:49

16 John Gerard MURPHY 00:20:15

17 Greg MCCLURE 00:20:16

22 Paul WILLIAMS 00:21:27

23 Colin SIMPSON 00:20:41

25 Andrew MILLIGAN 00:20:57

29 Nuala MULDOON 00:22:33

30 Jack CARBERRY 00:22:39

32 Conor O’RAWE 00:21:45

34 John Robert JOHNSTON 00:22:49

35 Siobhan DRAIN 00:22:56

39 Harry BREWSTER 00:22:29

41 Eamon SHERIDAN 00:22:37

46 Damian John MARQUESS 00:23:01

54 Nuala MULDOON 00:23:37

57 John O’HARE 00:24:37

64 John GRIBBIN 00:24:22

Wormwood Scrubs 01/01/2014

6 Michael MCCORMICK 00:22:47