14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Senior Roundup

Road-race-11Brooks Armagh International Road Race.

On Thursday night a large number of Harriers made their way to Armagh for the prestigious Brooks event, which featured some of the best talent from across the UK. The first event of the evening was the Women’s 3K event. Claire Conner was the leading Harrier to cross the line for the club in a time of 10:29 in 17th position overall. Claire was supported by a large contingent of junior runners results are as follows;

17th         Clare Connor         10:29.68

46th         Katie O’Hare         12:20.45

47th         Rioghnach Catney 12:24.25

54th         Maya McCathie         12:41.61

65th         Ciara Neilan         13:07.25

67th         Louise Smith         13:09.72

68th         Áine Drain                  13:27.01

80th         Rebecca Armstrong         14:23.91

82nd         Katie McCambridge         14:46.91

84th         Sandy Corr         15:12.20

The Mens 5K was the next event of the night and featured two entrants from the club. Adam Boyd performed well, completing the course in 15:22 for 62nd place and was followed by Conor Curran in 81st finishing in an agonising 16:00:86.

The final race of the night was the open men’s 3K. Conal McCambridge was the first club member across the line and had a strong run to finish in 23rd position overall in a time of 9:42. In all 11 Harriers toed the line over this distance results as follows;

23rd         Conal McCambridge         9:42.50

32nd         Niall Farquhar         9:50.40

49th         Niall Geehan         10:11.48

67th         Harry Brewster         10:37.87

70th         Mark McCallion         10:42.83

97th         Andrew Milligan         11:29.79

99th         Conor O’Rawe         11:34.63

103rd          Éamonn Sheridan         11:45.23

116th          Niall Armstrong         12:28.91

122nd         Kieran McCambridge         13:00.35

137th          Aaron McCann         15:55.5

mckinstry-ballyboley_thumb.jpgStormont Cross Country

On Saturday the final cross country event of the season took place at Stormont estate. Mark McKinstry put in another great performance to finish as the top Harrier in 7th position overall and was followed by Edward Cooke in 15th position. Next up was Laurence Johnston who finished in 28th position and claimed the first place finisher in the v55 category in the process. Simon Reeve continues to battle back from injury with a 30th place finish and was followed by James Wallace in 41st. Martin Cox and Colin Simpson paced themselves well to finish one after another in 65th and 66th position. They were followed by Greg McClure in 79th and Joe Drain in 81st.

In the womens open and masters race Helen Weir led home the team with a 26th place finish followed closely by Athanasia Sevastaki in 29th position. Siobhan Drain was next across the line in 46th position followed by Paula Wallace in 61st, Thelma McCullough in 78th and Lynn McCullough in 84th.

EamonWhiteWoodie’s DIY Master Men Cross Country Championships of Ireland

On Sunday a team of Harriers travelled to Meath to compete in the Cross Country championship and were rewarded for their journey with a 3rd place finish in the inter club team competition. The team made up of  Eamon White who finished 14th overall, Alan O’Hara 24th, Neil Carty 40th, Paul Blaney 49th and Paul Elliot 116th took the prize by a margin of three points from Derry Spartans.

Ben Dearg 10k

John McConnell was the sole club representative on Sunday in Kilclief. John put in a good performance to finish n 5th place overall and first v40 in a time of 40:13.


Another busy parkrun weekend. Three club members picked up new PBs at the tough Waterworks course including Jack Carberry, Emma Sheehy and Nora Curran.

1st Alan RITCHIE 17:33
48th Jim CLINTON 33:36
4th Kent SWANN 18:49
18th Greg MCCLURE 20:20
11th Claire PRENTER 19:56
28th Ciaran HUNTER 21:58
3rd John MCCONNELL 19:06
7th Ray CAMERON 20:44
1st Darryl BLAIR 16:42
2nd Conal MCCAMBRIDGE 17:34
3rd Simon REEVE 18:25
4th Sean MCSHANE 19:02
5th Drew KNOX 19:15
6th Gerry GRIBBON 19:41
9th John Gerard MURPHY 19:51
14th Patrick MCSHANE 20:52
17th Paul WILLIAMS 21:12
19th Jack CARBERRY 21:37 – New PB
25th Piaras MCSHANE 22:14
29th Nuala MULDOON 22:32
38th Ita MCCAMBRIDGE 23:29
42nd Jason REID 23:38
45th John Robert JOHNSTON 23:51
55th John O’HARE 24:16
68th Emma SHEEHY 25:06 – New PB
72nd John GRIBBIN 25:09
105th Mary RINGLAND 27:37
114th Kilian WOODS 28:13
138th Nora CURRAN 30:58 – New PB
147th Tina HAGGAN 33:01