14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

weekly round-up 29 June 2014


It was a great week for NBH, starting with the news that Mark McKinstry secured the overall title in the East Antrim Harriers Race series, with a convincing win in Race 4 by over a minute in a time of 22.43.   Martin Rea claimed a podium spot in third place in a time of 23.48, just six seconds behind the second-placed athlete, and Paul Horan finished close behind in sixth spot in a time of 24.30.   Mark won all three of the races that he entered and so wins the well-deserved overall top spot. 

mckinstrytrail.jpg  markmckinstry.jpg

Second place for McCourt

Cathy McCourt took part in the Judge Gallagher Memorial Round the Bridges 10 mile road race on Thursday 24th June, getting a great second place in a time of 1>03.58, and the 31st athlete in.

 Success in Ards Half Marathon

Hot on the heels of her success in the Lisburn Half Marathon, Gladys Ganiel was untroubled by any opposition in the Ards half and breezed home in 13th position overall and 1st female in a time of 1.19.03.  A fantastic night for the Harriers , as Louise Smith put in a great performance to secure third spot on the podium in a time of 1.26.06, so overall gold and bronze for the ladies.   In the men’s results, Andrew Considine came in in 12 place (just ahead of Gladys),  in 1.18.42.  Other placings and times: Marc Jennings, 14th (1.19.18); Michael Fitzpatrick 16th (1.20.53; John McGuigan 29th (1.24.06); Martin Cox 35th (1.25.51); Drew Knox (1.26.04); John McConnell (1.26.52); Marty Read (1.29.24); Colin Simpson (1.29.23); Amanda Perry (1.31.45); Greg McClure (1.32.05); Helen Weir (1.39.04); Andrew Harding (1.39.44); Gerard McNamara (1.43.25); Stephen Walker (1.44.00); Stephen Stewart (1.44.15); Sean McShane (1.59>05); Paul Williams (1.59.29); Thomas McKinstry (2.03.37); Jim Clinton (2.12.44); Patrick McShane (2.13.05).  The women’s team won gold and there was silver and bronze for our men’s teams!!

greg       Gladys 1

Hill and Dale Series Finals Friday 27 June

The series final race on Friday saw a field of 180 runners and Neil Carty battling it out and winning a podium spot in third place in 22.13.  Simon Reeve got 11st position in 23.59 and Kent Swann 26th position in 25.22.  Simon Reeve had great success in the Ballykinlar 10, winning top spot (result to be updated).


The 2014 SSE Airtricity Irish Runners 5 Mile in Phoenix Park on Saturday (28th) saw Breege Connolly narrowly missing out on a podium place and coming in 4th with a time of 28.33.  Fellow NBH Eddie Cooke came in a great 11th spot overall and just dipped under the 27 minute mark with a time of 26.59.  In the Firmus Super5 on Thursday night, Brendan Grew, Adam Boyd, Conor Curan and Connor McQuillan all achieved PBs (result to be updated).


(by Matt Shields)

When we decided to start parkrun about three years ago, Greg was one of the first people to emerge from the community willing to contribute his time to sustain the event.  Right up to his illness, he was part of the core team always willing to do any task without public recognition .  Within this time Greg became a very good personal friend; a quiet modest man but one with a big footprint, to which the turnout from Country Antrim at the parkrun last Saturday testifies.

I know he will be missed in many circles.



89th Drew CRAWFORD 27:10
2nd Connor Ashley MCQUILLAN 18:06
1st Paul ELLIOTT 18:00
17th Vincent BRADLEY 23:52
19th Jim CLINTON 24:10
1st John BLACK 17:25
22nd Mark SHIELDS 21:14
23rd Athanasia SEVASTAKI 21:14
15th Ciaran HUNTER 22:44
40th John LAVERY 29:13
13th John MCCONNELL 21:25
2nd Paul HORAN 17:55 – New PB
4th Stephen WALKER 18:48
7th Paul CURLEY 19:16
11th Gerry GRIBBON 19:57
13th Joe DRAIN 20:07
14th John Gerard MURPHY 20:14
19th Greg MCCLURE 21:03
24th Andrew MILLIGAN 21:21
30th Jack CARBERRY 21:48
31st Colin SIMPSON 21:59
32nd Paul WILLIAMS 22:00
33rd Jason REID 22:04
34th Roisin HUGHES 22:08
35th Drew KNOX 22:09
45th Conor O’RAWE 22:35
49th Niall ARMSTRONG 23:00
50th Tony REID 23:03
57th Eamon SHERIDAN 23:22
70th John GRIBBIN 24:25
71st Emma SHEEHY 24:26
84th John Michael MARQUESS 25:09
105th Nuala MULDOON 26:39
108th Sharron SYKES 27:20 – New PB
203rd Paul MCALLISTER 36:17


Waterstown, Republic of Ireland
2nd Matt SHIELDS 19:25