14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Weekly roundup 1 March 2015

The Athletics Ireland Cross Country Inter Clubs Kilbroney, Rostrevor (by John Black)

On Sunday a 10 strong team of Harriers took part in the Athletics Ireland Inter Club event in Kilbroney Park in Rostrevor. The event which pits all of the clubs in Ireland against one another for the prestigious club trophy is the last national XC title on offer and officially brings the season to an end.

With underfoot conditions being particularly good the race was a fast paced event and that coupled with a few sharp climbs which had to be navigated 6 times on the 12km total distance made for sizeable challenge facing all competitors. Team captain Alan O’Hara led the team home in 18th places overall followed by silver medalist at the NI Senior Mark McKinstry in 21st. Andrew Annett had another great run in what was a local event to finish in 27th and was followed by Eamon White for 35th. These four men made the scoring team. A bit further back and packing well John Black, Andrew Considine, Conor Curran and Eddie Cooke finished 45th, 48th, 51st and 55th respectively. Tommy Simmons also toed the start line despite carrying a calf injury which recurred during the race forcing him to retire after the third lap but he still contributed, providing great support and information during a testing section of the course.

The male team were given a C grading before the event but showed they were far more capable than this, and in the end finished 5th team overall beating all B teams and claiming the C grade win.


Swann dominates in Resolution Run 10k

On Sunday 1 March, well over 200 athletes arrived at QUB to take part in the annual Resolution Run in aid of the Stroke Association.  The undulating course was a 3.1 mile lap taking in QUB playing fields, Barnett’s Demesne and Mary Peters Track, with both the 5k and 10k races being run at the same time.  Kent Swann of NBH took the lead from the off, closely followed by James Trainor of Dub Runners and the club’s Simon Reeve.  This trio maintained their positions throughout, going into the second lap well ahead of any 5k runner.   But it was in the second lap that Swann showed his determination to win, pulling even further ahead of the following duo who were unable to catch him.  All Swann’s hard work over the past year paid off as he broke the tape with a 38 second PB in 35.55 in a well-deserved win, one minute and 55 seconds clear of James Trainor in second, with Reeve taking third place on the podium in a time of 39.05.   NBH’s Mark Shields followed quickly behind in fourth spot in a time of 41.17.  another club participant was Greg McClure, eighth in a time of 43.43.


Cookstown, Lough Fea

Lough Fea was fifth and final round of the multi-distance winter series organised by Sperrin Harriers. This event was a 10 mile trail race around the Lough.  Cathy McCourt, sixth overall in 1.02.08, David Clarke, eighth in 1.02.38, Martin Cox, 20 in 1.06.02 (1st M50), Ray Cameron, 41 in 1.11.09, Helen Weir, 48 in 1.13.46, Carol Clarke, 88 in 1.23.56, Eadaoin Donaldson 113 in 1.38.34, Nuala Mahon, 118 in 1.44.16, Bernadette Duffy, 122 in 1.58.53.  Martin Cox who has been competing in series took the top spot in the M50 category overall after winning his age category in two proceeding events (Drum-manor 10k and An-Creagan 5mile) and this event.

Born2Run Forest Series, Castlewellan

The final race of this popular series took place on Saturday 28 February.  with a capacity number of entrants at just over 600, the Club was represented by Thomas McKinstry (265th in 54.47), Stephen Stewart (289th in 54.52), Niall Kerr (322th in 56.31) and Padraigin Bingham (510th in 1.17.08)

Bath Half Marathon

Our very own Matt Shields took part in the busy Bath Half Marathon on Sunday 1 March.  This fast and flat race, now in its 34th year, had over 15,000 participants.  Matt finished in 175th position overall in a time of 1.2123 and claimed second spot in the M60 category.



 NBH – ni
6th Joe DRAIN 21:19
16th Siobhan DRAIN 22:50
5th Callum MCILROY 21:43 – New PB
25th Nat GLENN 25:23
3rd Peter MORRISON 18:14 – New PB
44th Ciaran HUNTER 24:35
45th Damien GILL 24:36
8th Nuala MULDOON 24:12 – New PB
10th John GRIBBIN 25:40
36th Maria MURPHY 34:45
24th Jim CLINTON 22:47
1st Andrew MILLIGAN 17:37 – New PB – 50th Parkun
2nd Michael FITZPATRICK 17:43
3rd Tony MC CAMBRIDGE 17:48
4th John BLACK 18:10
5th Paul CURLEY 18:30 – New PB
8th Simon REEVE 19:12
9th Paul MCALLISTER 19:18
12th John Gerard MURPHY 19:34
13th Drew KNOX 19:35
14th Gerry GRIBBON 19:37
17th Luke KELLY 19:51 – New PB
23rd Greg MCCLURE 20:30
27th Piaras MCSHANE 20:51
33rd Sarah-Jane MCFADDEN 21:27 – New PB
36th Jack CARBERRY 21:39
40th Eamon SHERIDAN 21:58
44th Gary BLYTHE 22:18
49th Tony REID 22:34
56th Eimear MCBRIEN 23:09
59th Paul BRENNAN 23:35
85th Catherine MCNICHOLL 25:38
87th John O’HARE 25:40
107th Marian HAYES 27:27
111st Clare O’HARA 27:50
122nd Kerry MCSHANE 28:25
123rd Gabrielle MALLAGHAN 28:26
127th Paul O’HARA 28:41
132nd Gillian RUSSELL 28:59 – New PB
142nd Margaret STEPHENS 29:46
155th Frankey MCGIVERN 31:41