14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Antrim International and Jimmys

This weekend saw the passing of the torch between the cross country season and the road racing season. In Antrim on Saturday five members competed for Northern Ireland in the Antrim International XC while on Sunday crowds flocked to Downpatrick to compete in the annual Jimmys 10km race.

Antrim International

The annual Antrim cross country event is one of the few IAAF international licensed races and as a result always brings a star studded field to the start line. The event which incorporated the Home Counties International and was an invitation only event of which five members of the club demonstrated enough talent to warrant a chance to wear an NI vest.

First Conal McCambridge took part in the Junior Men’s race completing the course in 24:45 for 24th position. Next up was the senior women with Cathy McCourt and Louise Smith competing. Cathy and Louise put in strong performances  over the 6.8k course to finish in 31st and 33rd respectively. In the senior men’s race Alan O’Hara and Mark McKinstry were in action over the 10km course with both working with each other throughout the race. Alan was the first to cross the line in 36th position overall followed by Mark in 37th place.

markantrim cathyantrim louiseantrim

(Photos by NiRunning)

Jimmy’s 10k

The road race is now officially open with the first big 10k of the year taking placing on Sunday in Downpatrick. As always the event was well supported and many Harriers took part in the East Down AC organised event. Louise Smith continued her great performances of recent with a podium finish in a strong field. Louise fought hard to secure 3rd place in a time of 38:13.

Eamon White was the first man to cross the line in 5th position in a time of 33:04. Eamon was followed by the ever improving Greg Lavery in 14th in 35:55 (1st Vet 40), Martin Cox in 28th in 37:58 (1st Vet 50),  John Murphy in 66th in 40:08, Penny Lindsay in 40:25 in 72nd (1st Vet 45), Greg McClure in 80th in 41:10 and Ita McCambridge in 174th in 45:22 (1st Vet v50), Paddy McCambridge in 175th also in 45:22 and Padraigin Bingeam in 1:14:00.



Cara Bundoran 10 Mile

Breege Connolly continued her string of great performances over the 10 mile distance with another win in the Cara Bundoran 10 mile race held on Saturday. Breege corssed the line as the first lady in a time of 57:40 and 10th position overall.

Glenariff Mountain Race

On Saturday the affectionately named spud run took place in the coastal village of Glenariff. The race which is the opener for the NIMRA series covers a 5.9 mile course with a 370m climb. Neily Carty enjoyed his return to mountain running with a 5th place finish in a time of 46:02 (1st Vet 45). Neil was followed by fellow mountain runner Simon Reeve in a time of 51:41 in 19th.


(Photo by Nirunning)

MSB St Patrick’s Weekend 5k

In Dublin on Sunday a quality field took part in St Patricks weekend 5k. Conor Curran opened up his racing account with a solid performance over the 5k distance finishing in a time of 16:08 to finish in 19th place.


247th Drew CRAWFORD 33:08

17th Jim CLINTON 23:28

1st David CLARKE 18:37
4th Janice PLUMB 20:34 – New PB
8th Trisha CAMPBELL 21:38 – New PB
27th Carol CLARKE 24:41 – New PB

2nd John BLACK 17:26
13th Mark SHIELDS 19:30
30th Athanasia SEVASTAKI 21:37

21st Damien GILL 22:06
40th Ciaran HUNTER 25:12

45th Maria MURPHY 34:06

5th John MCCONNELL 19:40

1st John MCGUIGAN 17:36
2nd Stephen WALKER 17:49
3rd Andrew MILLIGAN 18:01
4th Tony MC CAMBRIDGE 18:17
6th Simon REEVE 18:58 – 100th Parkun
11th Drew KNOX 19:23
13th John Gerard MURPHY 19:44
14th Gerry GRIBBON 19:44
17th Marc JENNINGS 19:57
20th Roisin HUGHES 20:10
27th Paul WILLIAMS 20:50
36th Greg MCCLURE 21:20
38th Jack CARBERRY 21:33
43rd Niall ARMSTRONG 21:57
44th Tony REID 22:08
46th Gary BLYTHE 22:17
49th Ita MCCAMBRIDGE 22:31
59th Piaras MCSHANE 23:02
75th Patrick MCSHANE 24:13
81st Steven THOMPSON 24:25
86th Paul BRENNAN 24:50
92nd Marian HAYES 25:20
120th Lynn MCCULLOUGH 27:31
131st John GRIBBIN 28:05
132nd Eadaoin DONALDSON 28:08
146th John Robert JOHNSTON 28:36
157th Margaret STEPHENS 28:53
159th Orla MCCAMBRIDGE 28:59
161st Paul O’HARA 29:05
164th Matt SHIELDS 29:15
190th Clare O’HARA 31:14
197th Bernadette DUFFY 31:25
242nd Jansje LE MAHIEU – LAMB 34:00
256th Paddy MCCAMBRIDGE 35:31
268th Gillian RUSSELL 36:56
276th Robert IRVINE 37:57
281st Anne MC CLUNE 38:50
286th John O’HARE 40:58
288th Gabrielle MALLAGHAN 41:04 – 50th Parkun
292nd Robert WILLIS 43:31
293rd Anne Marie CROZIER 43:32