14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Weekly Round Up 7th June 2015

Fairhill 5 Mile Road Race, Ballymena:

Wednesday evening saw the annual running of the Fairhill 5 Mile Road Race in Ballymena. In ideal running conditions almost five hundred competitors lined up for the event that takes in two laps of the town centre. The locals were treated to some top class running and there were some great performances from North Belfast Harriers. Last year’s podium finishers from the club, Mark McKinstry and Cathy McCourt had returned as well as several other Harriers looking for a fast five mile time. Right from the start, the pace was fast and by two miles the leaders were well ahead of the previous year’s finishing times. As the race played out, it was improvements all round for those from the club. Both Mark McKinstry and Brendan Grew went one place better than last year with Mark taking 2nd place in 26:03 and Brendan 3rd in 26:36. Cathy McCourt ran from the front in the ladies race, also improving on last year’s time and position taking 1st place in 29:15. Andrew Considine raced into fourth in 26:47, Nat Glenn took 11th place in 27:50 whilst Conor McQuillian (winner of last year’s 2.5 Mile race) finished the 5 miles in 28:50 for 20th. Greg Lavery took 21st place in 28:53, followed by James Wallace (1st M50) who also achieved a new PB for 22nd place in 28:55. David Clarke crossed the line in 25th with 29:05 whilst Conor Shiels 81st ran 31:58 and Greg McClure finished in 33:33. Janice Plumb 2nd F45 ran 34:22 and Paula Wallace brought her PB closer to 35 minutes, finishing in 35:13.

0706mccourt 0706grew 0706fair5


photographs from Ballymena Runners

Craigavon Lakes 10k:

Also on Wednesday evening, a further four hundred plus runners took on the Craigavon Lakes 10k (and associated 5k) event. Again the 10k consisted of two 5k laps of a fairly flat course, circumnavigating the lakes. Several Harriers also returned from last year’s outing to enjoy some mid-week racing and produced notable performances. It became a night of PB’s as firstly John Black just missed out on a podium repeating his 4th place of last year in 34.29. Then Paul Horan, (1st M40) took 7th in 35.37 PB, Joe Norney 15th in 36.32 PB, Martin Cox (2nd M50) 16th in 36.40 PB and Rory Kane 24th in 38.11 PB. Also Louise Smith finished 143rd with a time of 48.34.



Hill and Dale, Millstone:

Thursday evening saw nearly 200 runners take on the eighth race in the Hill and Dale series. The race runs on the trails of Donard Forest to Millstone Mountain. The competitors then scaled this rocky outcrop before following more forest trails downhill to the finish. The route was slightly amended this year to include the Granite Trail steps in order to avoid nesting buzzards to take it closer to 5 miles, with 1500 ft of climb. Neil Carty (1st M45), chasing 2nd place took a fall on the steep fire break descent but still crossed the in 3rd place in 40:21. Simon Reeve (2nd M35) missed out on the top 20 finishing in 45:03 for 22nd place.

St Benedict’s College 10k, Shane’s Castle:

On Friday, over one hundred runners descended on the County Antrim town of Randalstown for the 3rd annual running of the St Benedict’s College 10k, which took place within the picturesque Shane’s Castle Estate. The one lap course takes in trail and road with some small climbs and in blustery conditions, the headwind added to the challenge. North Belfast Harriers athlete Mark McKinstry (having finished 2nd at the Fairhill 5 mile road race 48 hours earlier) secured top spot in 33:20. Kent Swann, completed the top three in 35:36 which also improved his PB time. The club also celebrated victory in the ladies race, when Martsje Hell claimed her second win within a month. Martsje broke the tape in 40:07 to take first place. (Other North Belfast Harriers attended the race but a full set of results have yet to be published).

0706shane10k 0706shane123 0706martsje


photographs from NiRunning

IMRA European Trials:

On Saturday, at the Irish Trial for the European Mountain Racing Championships. North Belfast Harriers Andrew Annett took on the uphill route to the top of Djouce Mountain from Crone Wood. In a highly competitive race, Andrew finished in 7th with 36:16 for the 6.5km with 650m climb.


Mourne Way Marathon Series:

Also on Saturday, hundreds of runners took on the series of races held annually along the route of the Mourne Way. This year, Helen Weir competed in the Half Marathon and successfully finished in 3rd place, completing the route from the Slievenaman Road to Kilbroney Park in 1:55:08.

Derby Half Marathon:

On Sunday morning, nearly 3,000 athletes competed in the Derby Half Marathon which started and finished at the iPro Stadium, home of Derby County Football Club. The Ramathon is a fairly flat and a scenic course that includes parkland and riverside sections. North Belfast Harrier’s Sarah-Jane McFadden crossed the line in 1:35:34 setting a new PB and finishing 294th overall and around 20th place in the ladies race.


parkrun Results

On the first parkrun of the Summer, forty-five Harriers took on the wind and rain on Saturday morning. Six new PBs were achieved in the less than ideal conditions.

Belfast Victoria

4th Joe NORNEY 17:34 – New PB


21st Jim CLINTON 24:22


7th Callum MCILROY 21:14 – New PB

22nd Janice PLUMB 24:28


1st John BLACK 17:34

3rd Peter MORRISON 18:38

6th Simon REEVE 19:04

12th Mark SHIELDS 19:37

19th Athanasia SEVASTAKI 20:42

69th Eva KISSENPFENNIG 23:40


30th Ciaran HUNTER 22:53


10th Gerry GRIBBON 21:20

67th Clare HOLMES 31:38


4th John MCCONNELL 19:36

122nd Drew CRAWFORD 29:48


1st Tony MC CAMBRIDGE 17:44

2nd Michael FITZPATRICK 17:49

3rd Paul CURLEY 18:20

5th Tony MCNULTY 19:11

7th Drew KNOX 19:26

9th John Gerard MURPHY 19:37

13th Piaras MCSHANE 20:05 – New PB

14th Colin SIMPSON 20:16

15th Roisin HUGHES 20:28

19th Joseph SMITH 20:59 – New PB

22nd Paddy MCCAMBRIDGE 21:20

25th Luke KELLY 21:27

28th Jack CARBERRY 21:39

32nd Cian MCGRATH 22:05

34th Paul WILLIAMS 22:09

35th Eimear MCBRIEN 22:15 – New PB

36th Tony REID 22:19

47th Gary BLYTHE 23:03

48th Paul BRENNAN 23:12

49th Ita MCCAMBRIDGE 23:16

65th Patrick MCSHANE 24:33

71st Niall ARMSTRONG 24:48

73rd Conor O’RAWE 24:56

84th Lynn MCCULLOUGH 25:46

94th John O’HARE 26:13

96th Shane WAITE 26:29 – New PB

130th Eadaoin DONALDSON 28:52

135th Margaret STEPHENS 29:25

167th Marie-Louise LOWRY 32:24


370th Sandy CARR 36:18