14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Race Report, 4th – 10th July 2016, Success from the Ards peninsula to Amsterdam

The past week was a relatively quiet time on the local racing scene. Many NBH runners took the opportunity to get some solid training in or to use the holidays to rest. Nevertheless there remained some great competitive performances to report on.


Rathmullan 5k Road Race, Rathmullan, Co. Donegal:

With many people heading to Donegal for the holidays, this 5km race proved another popular Donegal race fixture, with over 250 runners competing on Friday evening. The race was won by Foyle Valley runner Chris McGuinness (15:20:1), the female winner was Fionnuala Diver from Letterkenny A.C. who took 25th place overall (17:45:0).

Four NBH runners took to the start line, with John Murphy the first across the line in 45th position (18:58:2). He was followed closely by the first of the Mc Cambridge contingent with Brendan finishing in 59th (19:34:3), Paddy in 67th 19:52:9) and Ita in 80th (20:34:2)


Ballyhegan Park N’ Stride 10k 2016, Kilmore, Co. Armagh:

Another popular fixture on Friday evening was the Ballyhegan Park N’ Stride 10km race, it attracted nearly two hundred runners to the Co. Armagh parish of Kilmore. The race was won by St. Peters AC runner Mark Hornett (37:41), NBH runner Louise Smith continued her impressive form being the first lady across the line in 4th place overall (40:39)


Greyabbey 10km, Co. Down:

The big local race of the weekend was the annual Greyabbey 10km race, organised by the Northern Ireland Civil Service Athletics Club. This race attracted a strong field of local competitors, with Ben Caughers (North Down AC) being the first male across the line for 1st (35:35), the first female home was Catherine Roberts (North Down AC) who took 29th overall (43:06).

A number of NBH runners made the trip down to the Ards peninsula to tackle the race and they were well rewarded for their travel.  John Mc Connell won his age category and took 6th place overall (38:20), Greg Mc Clure also topped his age category by securing 22nd place (42:10). Helen Weir closely contested the top female spot, finishing a few seconds behind the female winner to be the second female across the line, Helen took 31st overall (43:32). Philip McIlwath finished 80th (52:48) and Eimear Nugent took 98th position (56:30).


IAAF European Athletics Championships, Amsterdam, Holland:

IMG_2120Away from the local racing scene, NBH runner Gladys Ganiel represented Ireland at the European Athletics Championships, competing in the half marathon event.

Gladys, who is a reserve for the Irish Olympic marathon team, was one of two female Irish athletes competing in the event. The race was won by the Portuguese athlete, Sara Moreira (1:10:19). Gladys continued to show her fitness and strength, by completing the technical and twisting course in 71st position in a time of 1:18:06.

 (Photo by Athletics Ireland)




Parkrun results, Saturday 9th July 2016, @ various events through the province:

As ever NBH showed up in droves to participate at local park runs, this Saturday had four new Personal Best times



63rd Eddie COUGHLAN 26:49



18th Jim CLINTON 24:04



1st David CLARKE 19:08

5th Penny LINDSAY 21:48

12th Carol CLARKE 23:30 – New PB

29th Callum MCILROY 27:16

24th Kevin LAVERY 23:21

36th John LAVERY 24:20

26th John Robert JOHNSTON 26:57 – New PB

54th Clare HOLMES 30:07

1st James WALLACE 18:35

7th John MCCONNELL 19:46

1st Kent SWANN 17:07

2nd Andrew MILLIGAN 17:30

3rd Paul CURLEY 17:55

4th Simon REEVE 18:26

9th Conor O’RAWE 19:18

10th Roisin HUGHES 19:26

13th Drew KNOX 20:10

17th Luke KELLY 20:37

18th Greg MCCLURE 20:40

22nd Piaras MCSHANE 21:01

27th Helen F WEIR 21:48

29th Ciara O’RAWE 21:58

32nd Jack CARBERRY 22:15

42nd Max REID 22:57

45th Tony REID 23:05

50th Matt SHIELDS 23:22

56th Niall ARMSTRONG 23:38

61st Lynn MCCULLOUGH 24:06

67th Donna MCLAUGHLIN 24:38

72nd Jason REID 24:55

73rd Chris O’DONOGHUE 25:03

84th Eadaoin DONALDSON 25:42 – New PB

91st John O’HARE 26:21

112nd Philomena DONALDSON 28:02

114th Clare O’HARA 28:10

136th Philip MCILWRATH 30:42

137th Claire BRADY 30:43

138th Lynsey FLEMING 30:43

139th Jacqueline LAWLOR 30:47

143rd Dirdre MURPHY 30:58

150th Bernadette DUFFY 32:05

154th Orla YOUNG 32:37

161st Mick MURRAY 34:10



8th Ciaran HUNTER 24:29 – New PB

2nd John Gerard MURPHY 22:41

6th Ray CAMERON 19:14
St Annes

205th Rosy RYAN 44:51