14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Martsje Wins Giants Trail

Ladies dominate at sunrise run

On Sunday morning 70 athletes competed in the third running of the Sunrise 5k In Larne, an event hosted by East Coast AC.   NBH’s Penny Lindsay led the ladies’ race from the start, coming in first in 23.33, (11th overall) over 30 seconds clear of the runner-up.  Janice Plumb secured third spot on the podium in a time of 25.41.  Also, a special mention to ever-improving junior athlete Callum McIlroy, who placed sixth overall in a time of 22.08.   Other results: 16   John Steele M50  25:41;  22  Trisha Campbell FO 26:18; 24 Sandy Plumb M45 26:29

Cookstown Half Marathon

Also on Sunday 31 July, the annual Cookstown half marathon took place, with over 600 athletes participating and a good showing from North Belfast.  The revised course was considered challenging by many and was the eighth race of the Pure Running Half Marathon Series.  The men’s race was easily won by Freddie Sittuk, but NBH’s Marc Jennings put in a sterling performance for fifth spot in a time of 1.18.32.   In the ladies’ race, Louise Smith continued her great form and secured runner-up position in a time of 1.25.50 (24th overall).  Other participants from the club were:  16 Martin Cox 01:22:59;  26 Colin Willetts01:26:39; 59 Greg McClure 01:32:07; 68 Ray Cameron 1:33:45; 78 Paddy McCambridge 01:35:47; 88 Ita McCambridge 1:36:56; 183 Eamon McCambridge 1:47:51; 193 Paul Carlin 01:48:13; 244 Una McConnell 1:53:27; 335 Philip mc ilwrath 02:01:00; 339 Karen Clarken 02:01:23; 340 John Beggs 02:01:23; 347 John Clarke 02:02:32; 442 Dirdre Murphy 2:15:10; 446 Sharon Clarke 02:16:01; 449 MeganBeggs 02:16:09; 450 Anne Marie Clarken 02:16:09


Friday 29th July saw the 2nd running of the Giant’s Trail Race, hosted by Dub Runners at Dub Road playing fields.  This race had it all – the tow path, forest trails, pastures, the woodlands of Minnowburn, before returning to playing fields via the Giant’s Ring Neolithic monument.  The weather was also very kind to all 200 athletes taking part.  Despite not very much recent competitive racing Martsje Hell was on winning form, retaining her title won last year by over a minute (26th overall).  Other results:   23  42:00 John  Murphy; 40 43:22  Colin Simpson; 58 44:45 Helen F Weir; 107   48:51 Niall Armstrong; 140 52:44 Paul Carlin.


EAMS marathon series

Congratulations to Frankey McGivern on completing her 13th marathon since April, running in the EAMS marathon series on Wednesday 27th July.   This particular course was four laps from Carrickfergus Castle to Loughshore and back.  Also running were Thomas McKinstry, John Burns and Sandy Carr, who secured a new PB in a time of 4:11.

eamsfrankey eams

Milk Run 5 Mile

Jason Reid was the only participant among 200 athletes taking part in the LacPatrick Milk Run and finished in 89th place with a time of 37.28.


A special mention to Mark McKinstry who broke his own course record at Ecos park run on Saturday

99th Eddie COUGHLAN 27:55
1st John BLACK 16:09
3rd Conor CURRAN 16:28
5th Andrew MILLIGAN 16:46
1st Mark MCKINSTRY 15:48 – New PB and course record
4th Janice PLUMB 21:32
9th John STEELE 21:59
11th Carol CLARKE 22:38 – New PB
13th Harry PLUMB 23:10
16th Sandy PLUMB 23:46
22nd Trisha CAMPBELL 24:46
4th Laurence JOHNSTON 18:02
258th Jim CLINTON 31:19
10th Cathy MCCOURT 20:36
15th Ciaran HUNTER 21:44
1st James WALLACE 18:06
2nd Stephen WALKER 18:05
3rd Paul CURLEY 18:18
14th Drew KNOX 19:51
15th John Gerard MURPHY 19:56
17th Joe DRAIN 20:08
18th Piaras MCSHANE 20:12
25th Lauren COX 21:17
35th Helen F WEIR 22:29
36th Max REID 22:30
37th Tony REID 22:34
40th Anthony FLEMING 22:54
60th Eadaoin DONALDSON 24:33 – New PB
66th Greg MCCLURE 24:56
67th Ray CAMERON 24:56
77th Matt SHIELDS 25:18
79th Philip MCILWRATH 25:23 – New PB
94th Thomas MCKINSTRY 26:32
100th Martin KELLY 26:39 – New PB
107th John O’HARE 26:55
111st Kevin MCCANN 27:07
114th Claire BRADY 27:18
123rd Jason REID 27:53
142nd John GRIBBIN 28:53
150th Philomena DONALDSON 29:12
161st Martine MCANOY 29:53
164th Sandy CARR 30:01
165th Michael LAWLOR 30:01
167th John BURNS 30:11
177th Bernadette DUFFY 30:44
179th Frankey MCGIVERN 30:51
184th Monica O’KANE 31:17
189th Lorna MCGRATH 31:53
197th Margaret STEPHENS 32:46
201st Jansje LE MAHIEU – LAMB 33:06
202nd Jacqueline LAWLOR 33:07
205th Paula O’REILLY 33:59
208th Catherine CARLETON 34:18
241st Rosy RYAN 47:37

52nd Ciara O’RAWE 21:15 – New PB