14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Weekly Report 22-28 August 2016

In another busy week for NBH athletes there were fine performances at a wide variety of distances in races far and wide.

Dessie’s Run (10k)

In the fast Dessie’s 10k at the Gransha grounds on Tuesday 23rd new course records were set in both male and female events. Judi MacAuley flew the flag for the club finishing 2nd female in an excellent time of 38:59.

Strangford Festival 10k

The annual Strangford 10k race, part of the local festival took place on Friday 26th. Dominique McAllister was the first female junior home in a time of 51:51.

Portrush 5m Road Race

Also on Friday evening John Miskimmin finished in 7th place in this popular event which saw over 270 finishers. John’s time was 29:22.

Athletics NI Track & Field Team Trophy

On Saturday 27th at the Mary Peters track in Belfast, Caitlin Maguire won the sprint double with a time of 12.45 in the 100m and 25.54 for the 200m. Andrew Milligan finished 3rd in the 800m in 2:05:38.



In the Rathlin 10 mile race on Saturday 27th, Philip Goss had an excellent run to win the event by over 2 minutes in a time of 1:00:40. In the ladies race Helen Weir finished 2nd female overall and first in the vet 40 category in a time of 1:17:54. Emma Sheehy also had a fine run, finishing 3rd in the vet 45 category in a time of 1:31:00.

Thanks to NIRunning for the photograph.

Killyleagh Half Marathon

The inaugural Killyleagh half marathon took place on Saturday 27th with Neil Carty first home in an excellent time of 1:20:51.

Stormin The Castle 10k

On Sunday 28th the latest 10k in the Novosco Grand Prix attracted over 500 runners and the club was well represented with 15 athletes in the field delivering fine performances and category wins aplenty. David Clarke was first in the male vet 55 category in 36:43 (and 5th place overall in the race). Laurence Johnston ran a strong race for second in the category and 8th overall in a time of 36:47. Sandwiched in between the pair in 6th place overall and 1st vet 50 was James Wallace in a time of 36:44.

Next home was Jim Newbery to win the vet 60 category in a time of 40:52, followed by Carol Clarke in 43:53, Anthony Fleming in 48:06, Christopher Hicks in 49:46, Joe Wilson in 52:12, Philip McIlwrath in 53:51, Karen Clarken in 53:58, Cathy McKillen in 57:05, Joan Grieve in 59:49, Dirdre Murphy in 62:54, Ruth Anderson in 64:42 and Lorna McIlrath in 66:17.

Armagh City Marathon

Thomas McKinstry (Tucker) ran the back2back (2 marathons on consecutive days) on Saturday and Sunday in Armagh. In warm conditions on a hilly couse Tucker’s times were 4h18m and 4h39m.

Longford Marathon


The 15th annual Longford marathon races took place on Sunday 28th August in warm sunny conditions. Martin Cox ran the half marathon finishing 10th overall of nearly 400 finishers and first in the V50 category with a time of 1:23:42.  Greg McClure completed his 11th Longford marathon in 36th place in a time of 3:26:37. (Thanks to Peter Mooney for the photo).


Saturday was ‘Join In’ day with a fine turn out of club members representing the club at Waterworks and helping promote the Join In ethos of volunteering in local sport.


Results from the various parkrun events were:

2 Cathy MCCOURT 18:52
60 Eddie COUGHLAN 26:59

Colin Glen
20 Clare HOLMES 26:40

14 Sandy PLUMB 22:53
15 Janice PLUMB 22:55
16 John STEELE 23:08
45 Greg LAVERY 28:16

12 Simon REEVE 19:57

151 John GRIBBIN 26:58

30 Ciaran HUNTER 22:38
45 Damien GILL 23:51

1 Conal MCCAMBRIDGE 16:24
2 Thomas SIMMONS 17:08 New PB!
12 John Gerard MURPHY 19:04
15 Ray CAMERON 19:19 New PB!
16 Piaras MCSHANE 19:22
18 Matt SHIELDS 19:30
20 Drew KNOX 19:34
21 Luke KELLY 19:35
31 Ciara O’RAWE 20:51 New PB!
35 Eamon SHERIDAN 20:56
37 Niall ARMSTRONG 21:14
41 Harry BREWSTER 21:30
42 Ita MCCAMBRIDGE 21:31
43 Matthew LAVERY 21:31
53 Brendan MCCAMBRIDGE 22:04 New PB!
54 Sean MCSHANE JR 22:05
55 Tony REID 22:06
64 Gerard SOWNEY 22:57
70 Jim CLINTON 23:16
84 Coleen THOMPSON 24:41 New PB!
86 Paddy MCCAMBRIDGE 24:44
89 Peter MCCLELLAND 24:52
102 Kevin MCCANN 25:49
103 Daniel O’CALLAGHAN 25:50
115 Greg MCCLURE 26:35
131 Marian HAYES 27:17
136 Gabrielle MALLAGHAN 27:44
137 Philip MCILWRATH 27:44
138 Kerry MCSHANE 27:45
140 Claire BRADY 27:48
146 Eimear NUGENT 27:53
178 Joan GRIEVE 29:48
179 Lyle CARLETON 29:49
181 Dermot MCGRATH 29:58

188 Clare O’HARA 30:31
190 Eadaoin DONALDSON 30:38
192 Sandy CARR 30:48
203 Lynsey FLEMING 32:01
208 Orla YOUNG 32:09
209 Christine GASTON 32:10 New PB!
213 Lorna MCGRATH 32:21
214 Monica O’KANE 32:22
215 Bronagh CONLON 32:25
217 Elaine CRAWFORD 32:33
221 Bernadette DUFFY 32:53
223 Mick MURRAY 33:04
228 Marilyn FOSTER 34:20
236 Jack CARBERRY 35:27
237 Jason REID 35:29
239 Paula O’REILLY 35:36
240 Catherine CARLETON 35:37
248 Leeanne MAGEE 37:38 New PB!
258 Rosy RYAN 55:38