14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Weekly Report 26 September to 02 October 2016

NI & Ulster Road Relay Championships

The main event of the weekend was the NI & Ulster Road Relay Championships which took place at Victoria Park on Saturday 01 October. The club turned out in big numbers to compete at this well organised event. In fine conditions runners and supporters witnessed some excellent racing and fine performances from NBH athletes across the various events.

Junior Races
First off were the juniors. In the U13 race over 1600 metres, Luke Kelly comfortably broke the 6 minute barrier to secure 5th place in 5:49. Other competitors for the club were Francis Donaldson in 27th place in 6:41 and Lucia McGibbon in 40th with a time of 7:21.

In the U15 event, also over 1600 metres, Rebecca Wallace had a strong run to finish 2nd female and 6th overall in 5:39. Peter Reed, Matthew Lavery and Callum McIlroy also finished well inside 6 minutes in 5:44, 5:47 and 5:50 for 8th, 12th and 15th places respectively. Next home was Brendan McCambridge in 20th place in 6:00 and Lauren Cox in 6:19 for 34th place.


In the U17 event over 3,000m Ciara O’Rawe ran strongly to win the female race in 12:37 and 21st overall, accompanied by Ethan Michael Glenn in 16th place in 12:01 and Dominique McAllister who came home in 28th position in 14:51.


Masters Ladies
This proved to be an exciting race, with each team consisting of 3 ladies each running 3380m (approx 2.1m). Holders City of Lisburn set a new course record of 35:55 to finish narrowly ahead of the NBH ‘A’ team of Gladys Ganiel, Roisin Hughes and Louise Smith who finished in runners up spot in 36:02. The club ‘D’ squad also had a fine run for 10th place overall in a time of 41:25, with the ‘B’ team running 55:18 for 33rd place and the ‘C’ ladies coming home in 59:49 for 37th.


Masters Men
This time each team consisted of 4 men, again each running 3380m. In another exciting race, Acorns AC took the Masters Men’s title in 42:49 with the NBH ‘A’ squad running very consistently and finishing strongly to take runners up spot in 43:03. The club’s strength in depth was demonstrated by fielding a total of 5 teams for this race, with the other squads also running strongly. The ‘B’ squad finished 12th overall in 47:02, the ‘C’ quartet were 28th in 50:37, the ‘D’ team finished 44th in 55:17, and the ‘E’ squad finished in 52nd place in 60:34.


Senior Men
The final race of the afternoon was for the senior men, again 4 runners in each team completing 3380m. The team from Derry Track Club showed why they had made the journey to Belfast with 3 of their 4 runners breaking the 10 minute mark and a total time of 39:22 to take 1st place. The NBH ‘A’ team of Andrew Annett, Lindsay Gordon, Conal McCambridge and Mark McKinstry also ran strongly to finish runners up in a time of 40:09. The ‘B’ team competed well for 16th place in 46:16 and our ‘C’ squad came home in 33rd place in 54:39.

Monaghan Phoenix Marathon Festival 2016
Saturday 01 October and Sunday 02 October saw the third running of this event which attracts endurance specialists from all over the country. On offer were a Back to Back marathon, a single marathon and a half marathon. parkrun Jim (Clinton) sacrificed his Saturday parkrun to compete in the Back to Back event and finished 17th overall with times of 04:08:37 and 03:55:23 for an aggregate of 08:04:00. Thomas (Tucker) McKinstry competed in the Sunday marathon and finished in 59th place in 04:33:06.

The Great Scottish Run half marathon
On Sunday 02 October 15,000 athletes took to the streets of Glasgow for this popular race; starting in George Square in the city centre and visiting some of the city’s famous landmarks including the River Clyde, Pollok Park and Bellahouston Park, before heading back to finish on Glasgow Green. Elaine Holmes represented the club with a fine run to finish in 2638th place in a time of 1:46.


Results from the various parkrun events on 01 October were:

5 Cathy MCCOURT 18:24 New PB!
92 Eddie COUGHLAN 26:54

Belfast Victoria
10 Colin SIMPSON 19:58
17 Paul WILLIAMS 20:48
27 Paula WALLACE 22:38
100 Sharron SYKES 27:20 New PB!

13 Sandy PLUMB 25:04

12 Mark SHIELDS 19:32

27 John LAVERY 23:25
34 Damien GILL 24:16
51 Ciaran HUNTER 25:33
60 Eadaoin DONALDSON 26:32
83 Philomena DONALDSON 27:55

33 Lynn MCCULLOUGH 26:24 New PB!
39 Sandy CARR 26:49
53 Marian HAYES 28:43
57 John BURNS 29:02 New PB!

9 John MCCONNELL 20:07

7 Drew KNOX 19:58
9 John Gerard MURPHY 20:04
15 Cian MCGRATH 21:05
22 Greg MCCLURE 21:39
50 Daniel O'CALLAGHAN 23:47
52 Tony REID 23:57
65 Matt SHIELDS 24:47
82 John Robert JOHNSTON 26:23
94 Lyle CARLETON 26:49
95 Thomas MCKINSTRY 26:49
105 Ben MCWILLIAMS 27:26
119 John O'HARE 28:14
121 Steven THOMPSON 28:16
133 Clare O'HARA 28:36
138 Matthew HIGGINS 28:56
146 Michael LAWLOR 29:18
150 Margaret STEPHENS 29:58
151 Jacqueline LAWLOR 30:01
159 Bronagh CONLON 31:15
160 Philip MCILWRATH 31:15
169 Bernadette DUFFY 32:13
185 Marilyn FOSTER 35:01
208 Adrienne MARTIN-POOTS 43:34
241 Padraigin BINGHAM 53:19
253 Rosy RYAN 61:16