14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

NBH weekly race report, 3rd – 9th October 2016

As the Autumn weather draws in and the temperature drops, we are often tempted to stay warm indoors. But there was no let up on the local racing scene, with three quality local events keeping the NBH outside and active on the trails, road and field.

GR8 Dundrum Run, Dundrum, Co. Down:

The main street in Dundrum swarmed with over 800 runners on Saturday past, for this popular all terrain event organised by Murlough AC. It’s a fiercely contested race, attracting the top talent in the province and many hundreds out to enjoy the county Down coast line.


David O’Flaherty (Newcastle AC) took first place in the men’s race with a convincing win in (44:12) and Amanda Perry (Ballydrain Harriers) took the ladies top spot with a time of (54:08). As in previous years a large number of NBH made the trip towards the mountains in search of a challenging unique course and a great atmosphere. The NBH contingent were not disappointed and were well rewarded with some great results, including an age category win by Piaras McShane:


Photo from NBH facebook page


Firstname LastName Category Finish
13 Stephen Walker M35 00:51:25
41 Piaras McShane MJ 00:54:44
45 Mark Shields M50 00:54:50
64 Joseph Drain M45 00:55:49
96 Paul Williams M50 00:58:46
156 Joseph Grey M40 01:02:04
198 Gerard Sowney MO 01:03:57
219 Gordon Glenn M45 01:04:47
311 Lynn McCullough F45 01:08:41
322 Geraldine Murphy F35 01:09:01
331 Thomas McKinstry M50 01:09:11
361 Anthony Fleming M40 01:10:06
387 Kevin McCann M45 01:11:04
396 Elaine Holmes F50 01:11:22
407 John Beggs M50 01:11:47
430 Eadaoin Donaldson FO 01:12:52
437 John Burns M45 01:13:18
439 Sandy Carr F35 01:13:19
465 Philip McIlwrath M40 01:14:14
476 John Clarke M35 01:14:35
479 Irene McGreevy F35 01:14:48
506 Sharon Clarke FO 01:15:43
600 Gabrielle Mallaghan F50 01:19:56
686 Megan Beggs FO 01:23:52
687 Eimear Nugent F35 01:23:53
711 Caroline Hill F40 01:25:56
739 Claire Brady F40 01:27:40
751 Jackie Lawlor F50 01:28:45
752 Michael Lawlor M50 01:28:47
756 Christopher Murray MO 01:28:51
757 Mick Murray M50 01:28:51
770 Colleen McIlwrath F40 01:29:43
771 Kathleen O’Neill F45 01:29:44
808 Andrew Grimley MO 01:34:48
831 Kerry McShane F35 01:39:11
845 Sinead Toal F40 01:46:10
847 Jansje Lamb F45 01:46:12
848 Leeanne Magee F35 01:46:12
854 Orla Young F40


855 Rosy Ryan F40 02:14:31


NIMAA 2016 Cross Country, QUB DUB playing fields 2016, Belfast, Co. Antrim:

Saturday also seen the annual Northern Ireland Masters Athletics Association (NIMAA) Cross Country at the DUB Road Playing Fields. This was also the trials for the Masters British & Irish XC International, which is taking place in Glasgow this November.

The race was won by Allan Bogle from City of Derry AC (25:30) and Cathy McCourt (21:57). There were a large number of NBH runners who took to the leafy course around the DUB playing fields, showing the strength of the masters contingent within the club. In the mens 8km Eamon White secured 3rd spot on the podium and three of the top ten runners were from NBH, in addition both David Clarke and Eamonn White took age category wins.

img_2420a few NBH post race, photo by Ryan Maxwell via twitter @NiRunning

Mens 8km race

Pos Name Gender Category Finish time
3. Eamon White m M45 26:27,5
4. Brendan Grew m M35 26:59,0
9. Neil Carty m M45 27:16,3
11. Paul Horan m M40 27:36,6
17. David Clarke m M55 28:00,2
18. Nat Glenn m M50 28:00,3
23. Vernon Shiels m M35 28:14,1
27. James Wallae m M50 28:28,5
35. Laurence Johnston m M55 29:30,3
47. Jim Newberry m M60 32:07,3
55. Greg McClure m M55 34:25,3


Ladies and Male vet+65, 6km race

Pos Name Gender Category Finish time
24. Carol Clarke f F50 26:52,0
28. Paula Wallace f F45 27:13,4
32. Freddie Murpoch m M70 28:14,4
42. Drew Crawford m M75 42:21,1


Adidas Armagh 10 mile Road Race, Co Armagh:

Amongst near perfect racing conditions on Sunday morning, nearly three hundred runners headed to the Navan centre outside Armagh city to tackle this 10 mile course. The race attracted the best of local talent amongst the large number of competitors, with many finding the hilly terrain a challenge. The runners were rewarded with a well organised race, a great atmosphere and a fantastic spread of ‘recovery’ snacks afterwards. In the words of the local mayor the leaders at the front certainly did ‘give ‘er dixie’ with Paddy Hamilton from Slieve Gullion Runners being the 1st male to finish in (51:26) and Laura Graham from Mourne Runners securing another impressive win in (59:30).

There were some fantastic performances by NBH runners, with Louise Smith & Anne Fitzpatrick taking age category wins, while overall NBH men and women secured both the male and female team prizes.

img_2422Photo from NBH twitter @nbharriers

Pos Name Gender Category Finish time
7 Conor Curran m M40 56:36
16 James Brown m M40 57:49
18 Kent Swann m MO 58:25
25 Marc Jennings m MO 59:37
40 Louise Smith f F45 1:02:38
58 Anne Fitzpatrick f F35 1:08:19
63 Penny Lindsay f F45 1:08:53
64 Janice Plumb f F45 1:09:01
73 John Steele m M50 1:10:33
132 Sandy Plumb m M45 1:20:44


Ridgeway Run 2016, Tring, Hertfordshire, England

On Sunday Matt Shields tackled the Ridgeway Run, a challenging 15km trail run amongst the Hertfordshire Chilterns hills with a total climb of 235 metres. Matt finished in 12th place amongst the 550 strong field, securing his age category win with a time of 1:01:36.


Glor na Mona 10km, Belfast, Co Antrim

On Sunday Jim Clinton took part in the Glor na mona 10km race in Belfast’s Gaeltacht Quarter, in aid of fundraising for the for the Irish Medium Education charity, TACA. Jim finished in 17th position overall in a time of 46:17.


Parkrun @ various locations:

As ever the NBH attended parkrun events in their droves despite the cooler morning weather. This Saturday saw 3 new PBs and a 16 minute park run.

Belfast victoria

6th Colin WILLETTS 18:59

26th Lauren COX 21:09
Colin glen

32nd Jim CLINTON 29:31

3rd Marc JENNINGS 18:12

7th Simon REEVE 19:07

22nd Eva KISSENPFENNIG 21:14 – New PB

10th Rebecca WALLACE 20:11

17th Ciaran HUNTER 21:08

20th Kevin LAVERY 21:40

21st Damien GILL 21:41

41st John LAVERY 24:15

7th John MCCONNELL 19:56

1st Conal MCCAMBRIDGE 16:00 – New PB

2nd Thomas SIMMONS 17:23

7th Conor O’RAWE 19:00

8th Piaras MCSHANE 19:07

9th John Gerard MURPHY 19:31

12th Drew KNOX 19:54

20th Eamon SHERIDAN 20:47

22nd Matthew LAVERY 21:15

24th Ciara O’RAWE 21:22

25th Greg MCCLURE 21:24

33rd Niall ARMSTRONG 21:59

39th Tony REID 22:30

67th Lyle CARLETON 25:12

68th Matt SHIELDS 25:15

88th John Robert JOHNSTON 26:09

107th John O’HARE 27:42

110th Steven THOMPSON 27:47

130th Philomena DONALDSON 29:25

133rd Clare O’HARA 29:36

145th Elaine CRAWFORD 30:29 – New PB

151st Margaret STEPHENS 30:57

152nd Bronagh CONLON 31:00

153rd Bernadette DUFFY 31:09

156th Lynsey FLEMING 31:29

159th Philip MCILWRATH 31:55

166th Dermot MCGRATH 32:47

228th Kerrie THOMPSON 52:48

234th Padraigin BINGHAM 53:56

240th Rosy RYAN 54:20

Comments (1)

Penny Lindsay got category prize V45 & Janice Plumb 2nd in V45

Comments are closed.