14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

NBH Harriers Race Report, 28th November – 4th December 2016:

The NBH embraced the Winter season with some great performances in cross county, trail and roads.


Born 2 Run ‘Run Forest Run’ Loughgall 10k & 5k, County Armagh:

The results for these races do not include club names; well done to any NBH runner who participated at this event.


Malcolm Cup Cross Country, Sixmilewater Park, Ballyclare, Co. Antrim:


Photo from NBH facebook page

The latest fixture in the Athletics NI XC League brought athletes once again to Sixmilewater Park in Ballyclare. This time Annadale Striders had organised the event, and somehow managed to provide slightly warmer weather than last month for the McConnell Shield.

With the NI XC league heating up at the top, many club runners turned out to this already popular XC venue to test themselves on what were quite favourable conditions underfoot.

Overall seven races were held over the mile-long, looped course, with great performances by NBH runners throughout all races.

Finishing position Name Finish time
Under 11
5 Max Reid

David Kelly

8 03:50
Under 13
2 Luke Kelly

Kevin Kearney

11 6:12
Under 15
16 Brendan McCambridge 12:43
Under 17 Girls
3 Ciara O’Rawe

Dominque McAllister

5 14:20
Under 17 boys
4 Cathoir Purvis

Piaras McShane

9 18:28
Mens vets, ladies open and ladies vets – 3 miles
3 Neil Carty 16:47
11 James Wallace 17:47
21 John Patience 18:54
54 Jim Newberry 20:41
66 Greg McClure 21:29
70 Helen F Weir 21:51
102 Thelma McCullough 24:04
Malcolm Cup – 4 Miles
8 Philip Goss 22:09
20 Kent Swan 23:15
25 Marc Jennings 23:43
32 Edward Cooke 24:00
60 Sean McShane 25:37
93 Ray Cameron 26:57
106 Niall Armstrong (Under 20) 27:19
108 Peter McClelland 27:46
115 Paddy McCambridge 28:04
118 Gerard Sowney 28:13
122 Nicholas Wallace 28:21
127 Ivan McConville 28:35
130 Colin Simpson 28:38
136 Ciaran Browne 28:28
157 Gary Blythe 30:57
167 Jason Reid 34:14
168 Philip McIlwrath 34:27
170 Thomas McKinstry 37:21

There were podium positions for Luke Kelly in the Under 13 race and Ciara O’Rawe in the Under 17 Girl’s race.

The Men’s vets, Ladies’ open and Ladies’ vets was 3 loops of the mile-long course and was won by Paul Carroll of Annadale Striders (16:33) with Jessica Craig of North Down AC taking the ladies’ race win (17:46). NBH Neil Carty clinched 3rd place for a podium spot, while Helen F Weir & Thelma McCullough represented NBH ladies to finish strong in their race.

In the Malcolm Cup 4 mile race the win was taken by Niall Johnston of Springwell (20:40). NBH had a large representation in this race with Philip Goss leading the way for the club (8th place) in what was a fantastic display of team running to field 18 runners in total.


Jingle Bells 5k, Phoenix Park, County Dublin:

On Saturday two NBH runners took part in a 5km race organised by Donore Harriers around Phoenix Park in Dublin. The fast race was won by John Travers from Donore Harriers (14:07) and Olympian Ciara Mageean from UCD AC, led the ladies race home (15:57).

NBH had two runners in the race, Stephen Walker took 92nd place (17:40) and the second Olympian in the field, Breege Connolly was the 5th lady across the line in 50th place overall (16:49).


Clonakilty 10km / half marathon / marathon, Clonakilty, County Cork:

On Saturday a number of NBH made a trip south to Clonakilty to test themselves on a tough but scenic course. Padraigin Bingham tackled the 10km route to finish in 569th place (1:24:08). Frankey McGivern took up another marathon challenge to finish in 322nd (5:01:26). Both received a medal to rival the size of the Cookstown 2016 half marathon for the biggest medal in the land.


The Griddle 10km, Saul, County Down:


Photo from NBH facebook page

On Sunday Saul GAC and East Down AC hosted runners from around the country in the townland of Saul and Downpatrick area for their popular 5km and 10km road race. 118 runners took part in the 10km and 60 tackled the 5km loop.

Overall the men’s race was won by Brendan Teer from East Down AC (34:45), with the ladies’ race being clinched by Catherine O’Connor also from East Down AC (39:59).


Pos Firstname Name Category Finish Distance
7 Sean McShane M40 00:39:39 10k
35 Greg McClure M60 00:44:26
73 Gary Blythe M45 00:50:05 10k
91 Sandy Carr F35 00:54:16 10k
99 Philip McIlrath M40 00:57:02
106 Philomena Donaldson F55 01:03:15 10k
108 Jacqueline Lawlor F50 01:04:38 10k
114 Marian Hayes F60 01:08:36 10k
115 Michael Lawlor M50 01:08:38
116 Kerry McShane F35 01:10:17 10k
117 Nisha Sharma FO 01:10:17 10k
118 Gabrielle Mallarhan FO 01:10:17 10k
53 Rosy Ryan F40 00:41:53 5k

A large number of NBH runners took to the start line here and the event was well received and enjoyed by the group, which is evident in some great results. After mucking up the XC shoes on Saturday Sean, Greg, Gary and Philip slipped on the road shoes for this event the next day. Ever craving competition Sean and Greg even clinched age category wins. In the ladies’ races Philomena and Marian also sealed age category wins.


Athletics NI XC League 2016/17

After Comber, Rostrevor, Ballyclare #1 & Cookstown XC events the club was sitting strong at the top of the mens NI XC league with 75 points, with North Down AC only 5 points behind. The strong performance here at Ballyclare #2 unofficially seems to have given the club maximum points available for turn out and points for third placed team, which sets the club up well to enter the second half of the XC season.


Parkrun results, Saturday 3rd December 2016, @ various events through the province:

As ever NBH showed up in droves to participate at local park runs; this Saturday had five new Personal Best times and one 50th Parkrun


11th Martsje HELL 21:34

Belfast Victoria

14th Damien GILL 20:29

15th Colin SIMPSON 20:31

60th Sandy CARR 25:07 – New PB

61st John BURNS 25:08

109th Marian HAYES 27:39

10th Elaine HOLMES 25:45 – New PB – 50th Parkun

11th Jennifer CURLEY 25:45

1st Andrew MILLIGAN 17:49

19th Jim CLINTON 26:01

3rd Callum MCILROY 21:35

9th Harry PLUMB 22:28

10th Janice PLUMB 22:29

61st Ray CAMERON 29:34

5th Paul ELLIOTT 18:30

13th Philip Patrick DONNELLY 19:38

20th Ciaran HUNTER 20:57

64th John LAVERY 25:00

29th Clare HOLMES 25:52

30th Kevin MCCANN 25:53

53rd Eimear NUGENT 29:44

3rd John MCCONNELL 19:24

5th Amando BAMISILE 18:24

6th Jim BENSON 18:39

7th Colin WILLETTS 18:51

13th John Gerard MURPHY 19:59

21st Greg MCCLURE 21:09

26th Lauren COX 21:51

38th Tony REID 22:48

41st Martin COX 23:11

46th Daniel O’CALLAGHAN 23:28

48th Piaras MCSHANE 23:47

51st Coleen THOMPSON 23:51 – New PB

66th Lyle CARLETON 25:24

67th Drew KNOX 25:27

69th Matt SHIELDS 25:28

77th Philip MCILWRATH 25:54

85th Michael LAWLOR 26:17

104th Magdalena BISEWSKA 28:04

111st Fiona MAGILL 28:49 – New PB

113rd Clare O’HARA 28:55

120th Joan GRIEVE 29:20

121st Bronagh CONLON 29:23

127th Claire BRADY 30:00

134th Dermot MCGRATH 30:23

135th Thomas MCKINSTRY 30:24

137th Bernadette DUFFY 30:36

138th Orla YOUNG 30:44 – New PB

152nd Margaret STEPHENS 32:47

164th Jansje LE MAHIEU – LAMB 34:51

165th Kerry MCSHANE 34:51

184th Mick MURRAY 42:34

195th Rosy RYAN 49:49



15th Kevin LAVERY 24:14

27th Vincent BRADLEY 26:29