14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

NBH weekly race report, 23rd – 29th January 2017: Titanic efforts in competition and community

Athletics NI Awards, Titanic Belfast

The Titanic Belfast buildmatt awarding was the location of the Athletics NI Award ceremony, where on Wednesday the Samsons and the Goliaths of Northern Ireland’s athletes, coaches, officials and volunteers were honoured for their efforts during the 2015/2016 season.

NBH very own Matt Shields was recognised for his contribution to NI community through running. Specifically recognised was his role as Parkrun Ireland director and his impact in creating new Parkrun events across NI, as Athletics NI commented; ‘Parkrun has given thousands of people an opportunity to challenge themselves in a friendly, accessible environment.’

Whether its guiding junior runners around the trails of Divis and Black Mountain, encouraging new runners through the various Jog Belfast programmes or helping guide NBH as a club, his contribution to the community is certainly Titanic.

Some NBH members commented ‘…..Brilliant athlete and coach…. Amazing foresight for athletes and athletics in Belfast and afar…..dedication and attention to detail personified…. Truly well deserved, congratulations….well deserved recognition of all your hard work…

(Photo from Athletics NI)

NI & Ulster Intermediate & Masters XC Championships, Gransha, Co Derry/Londonderry

The NBH Masters teams had great derry ladiessuccess at Gransha on the edge of the river Foyle, with both male and female teams taking the team wins.

The 4km Masters Ladies race was won by Amy Bulman of Willowfield Harriers (14:30). Not far behind was Louise Smith who clinched 5th place with the remaining NBH ladies finishing strong throughout the entire competitive field. This strong finish provided the Master Ladies team with the top spot in the team Championship competition. A resounding success for all finishers.

Not wanting the ladies to take all the glory, the NBH Masters mens team also clinched the top team spot at the 8km Masters Mens race. That race was won by Chris McGuinness of Foyle Valley AC (24:57), with Alan O’Hara not far behind leading the NBH mens team home in 4th position overall. Not only was there the success by clinching the top team spot, the NBH men also fielded fourteen runners in that race showing the strength in numbers the club has in that age category.

Next up the Ladies Intermediate Championship race was a 4km distance, which was won by Jodi Smith from North Down AC (14:40). NBH ladies had 4 runners in that race, Sarah JanMcFadden led them home in that race taking 17th position overall.

The final race of the day was the Intermediate Mens Championship race which was 10km in distance over the heavily trodden ground. It had shaped up to be quite the race and by all accounts it didn’t disappoint. NBH’s Conal McCambridge put in a sterling effort to race at the front, but in the end it finished with Conan McCaughey from Derry Track Club taking the win (30:46). Conal finished in a fantastic 3rd place overall and led home ten other NBH runners, with a large number of younger NHB men finishing well and showing great promise for the future.

(Photo from NBH facebook)

Masters ladies 4km


Pos Name Time
5 328 Louise Smith North Belfast Harriers  00:14:54
15 324 Penny Lindsay North Belfast Harriers  00:15:25
18 331 Janice Plumb North Belfast Harriers  00:15:28
19 330 Roisin Hughes North Belfast Harriers  00:15:31
43 332 Kelli O Neil North Belfast Harriers  00:17:26
50 326 Ita McCambridge North Belfast Harriers  00:17:48
61 334 Elaine Holmes North Belfast Harriers  00:18:53
62 333 Thelma McCullough North Belfast Harriers  00:19:07
68 353 Anne Marie Clarken North Belfast Harriers  00:23:08

Masters men 8km


4 339 Alan O’Hara North Belfast Harriers 00:25:19
6 340 Eamon White North Belfast Harriers 00:25:29
10 338 Neil Carty North Belfast Harriers 00:26:04
11 341 Thomas Simmons North Belfast Harriers 00:26:07
16 337 Andrew Considine North Belfast Harriers 00:26:30
20 342 David Clarke North Belfast Harriers 00:27:13
48 345 John Patience North Belfast Harriers 00:29:58
70 348 Robert Irvine North Belfast Harriers 00:31:35
72 349 Patrick McCambridge North Belfast Harriers 00:31:53
73 346 Jim Newberry North Belfast Harriers 00:31:56
99 350 Gary Blythe North Belfast Harriers 00:36:48
101 335 Lyle Carleton North Belfast Harriers 00:36:58
104 336 Philip McIlwrath North Belfast Harriers 00:40:13
106 354 John Beggs North Belfast Harriers 00:41:49

Intermediate ladies 4km


17 308 Sarah-Jane McFadden North Belfast Harriers 00:16:06
29 310 Una McConnell North Belfast Harriers 00:16:54
32 311 Helen Weir North Belfast Harriers 00:16:59
41 309 Eadaoin Donaldson North Belfast Harriers 00:21:08

Intermediate men 10km


3 315 Conal McCambridge North Belfast Harriers 00:31:25
27 325 Andrew Milligan North Belfast Harriers 00:33:07
37 323 Shane Donnely North Belfast Harriers 00:34:07
56 317 Conor O’Rawe North Belfast Harriers 00:36:23
58 355 Colin Willetts North Belfast Harriers 00:36:27
61 318 Sean McShane North Belfast Harriers 00:36:44
70 316 Joe Norney North Belfast Harriers 00:37:59
71 314 Ray Cameron North Belfast Harriers 00:38:38
72 312 Niall Armstrong North Belfast Harriers 00:39:21
76 322 Eamon McCambridge North Belfast Harriers 00:40:33
78 320 Gerard Sowney North Belfast Harriers 00:40:38

Raheny 5 mile, Raheny, Co. Dublin

Sunday brought drizzle and damp and four thousand runners to the North Dublin area of Raheny, to participate in this prestigious 5 mile race. Founded by Moscow 1980 Olympian Pat Hooper and promoted by Raheny Shamrock AC, the race is fast and popular and attracted a number of NBH runners.

Overall it was won by Mark Christie from Mullingar Harriers A.C (23:45) and Barbara Cleary from Donore Harriers (27:41). Mark McKinstry led the NBH men home, finishing in 15th place overall (25:47), while Conor Curran took second in his age category with 30th place overall and the Mc Shanes followed finishing off the NBH runners. In the male club competition, NBH was the 10th overall club from the 62 clubs that participated, demonstrating the potential for club success in races like this.

Position Name Time
15 Mark MCKINSTRY 25:47
30 Conor CURRAN 26:43
177 Piaras MCSHANE 30:04
215 Sean MCSHANE 30:37


Parkrun @ various locations:

Well done to all who participated in parkrun the past weekend, due to technical difficulties summary of parkrun results is not available, please see Waterworks parkrun results here: