14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Weekly Report 6th -12th February

Cool Running Rewards Harriers


Carnethy 5

The Carnethy 5 Mountain Race took place on Saturday. The course covers five peaks over 6 miles. The ‘1st Place Overseas Athlete’ trophy was awarded to Nat Glenn who finished in 1:10:07.


National Masters XC Championships, Waterford

Antrim claimed 3rd in the County Team points at the National Masters XC Championships on Sunday thanks to the performances of the squad from North Belfast Harriers. NBH also claimed 4th in the Team Club points and managed a few age category medals as well.

12th Eamon White 24:46 (3rd M45)

28th Alan O’Hara 25:29

31st Tommy Simmons 25:33

39th Neil Carty 25:45 (3rd M50)

42nd Andrew Considine 25:52

65th David Clarke 26:38 (2nd M55)


Donadea 50Km (AAI National 50K Trail Championships)

The annual running of the Donadea Forest trails was held on Sunday morning. A 5K lap is run ten times which can help with the pacing but will still require just as much mental as physical endurance to complete. Matt Shields shaved seven seconds off last year’s time to finish 13th overall in 3:43:48.

Less than ten minutes later, Louise Smith crossed the line in 3:51:09 to claim the National Title in well under four hours and significantly ahead of her nearest rival. Louise’s gritty and determined final few laps also saw her finish in 20th overall.


Mallusk XC

The Mallusk Cross Country returned to the Belfast City Playing Fields on Sunday. Several Juniors participated in their Age Group categories. Daniel Kelly ran well, as did Orlagh McComb and Kate Curran, all three close to the podium places in their respective events. Matthew Lavery led home Brendan McCambridge, Luke Kelly and Cain McGrath in their race. Whilst Ciara O’Rawe topped the podium in her event.

In the Senior Men’s four mile event Harriers swept the podium with Mark McKinstry taking 1st place in 22:41, followed by Michael McKillop 23:09 and Edward Cooke 24:28. John Patience also took an age category win, finishing 17th overall in 27:00


DUNE Half Marathon

The cross border half marathon between Dundalk and Newry was ran on Sunday morning. This year the participants were faced with the steep climb out of Newry at the start before gently undulating down to the finish in Dundalk’s Market Square. Half a dozen Harriers took on what was also the first race of this year’s Pure Running Half Marathon Series.


23   John         Mcconnell 01:23:56

168 Jim         Clinton 01:38:29

442   David         Kennedy 01:55:21

542   Elaine         Holmes 02:01:28

543   Geraldine     Murphy 02:01:28

703   Conor         Sheridan 02:21:01



parkrun Results

North Belfast Harriers participated in at least a dozen parkruns on Saturday morning. There was a great turnout at the Colin Glen parkrun to support Elaine and to raise awareness of MSA (Multiple System Atrophy). Also, there were at least nine PBs were ran and a 50th parkrun milestone was reached.

 1202colin 1202glen

Belfast Victoria 3rd Conor CURRAN 16:40

Bangor 110th Joe WILSON 26:47 – New PB

Colin Glen 2nd Paul CURLEY 20:26 7th Jennifer CURLEY 22:31 – New PB 21st Jim CLINTON 26:22 26th Donna MCLAUGHLIN 28:55 28th Geraldine MURPHY 29:19 29th Sandy CARR 29:19 38th Elaine HOLMES 30:35 39th Philip MCILWRATH 30:35 42nd Aaron MCCANN 31:20 48th Gabrielle MALLAGHAN 33:53 49th Alicia WHYTE-MCGIVERN 33:53 62nd Rosy RYAN 44:57

Larne 22nd Sandy PLUMB 31:15

Musa Cookstown 1st Cathaoir PURVIS 17:06 11th Shane DONNELLY 20:07

Ormeau 27th Eva KISSENPFENNIG 21:04 310th Drew CRAWFORD 33:09

Portrush 11th Martsje HELL 20:47

Queens 13th Helen F WEIR 21:16 25th Ciaran HUNTER 22:48 86th John LAVERY 29:10

Stormont 121st Padraigin BINGHAM 39:52

Valley 7th Jim NEWBERRY 20:48 20th Kevin MCCANN 23:02 – New PB

Wallace 5th John MCCONNELL 19:11

Waterworks 2nd Amando BAMISILE 17:31 – New PB 3rd Conor O’RAWE 17:32 – New PB 5th Piaras MCSHANE 18:27 7th Niall ARMSTRONG 19:16 10th David CURRAN 19:33 12th John Gerard MURPHY 19:48 13th Eamon SHERIDAN 19:54 22nd Ciara O’RAWE 20:48 – New PB 34th Daniel O’CALLAGHAN 22:44 – New PB 42nd Lyle CARLETON 23:23 49th Tony REID 24:02 57th Matthew LAVERY 24:46 58th Brendan MCCAMBRIDGE 24:53 72nd Thomas MCKINSTRY 25:59 82nd Liam SMYTH 26:11 – New PB 91st Eadaoin DONALDSON 26:34 107th Joan GRIEVE 27:53 114th Bronagh CONLON 28:13 – 50th Parkun 123rd Joanne MCGURK 28:45 – New PB 158th Catherine O BOYLE 32:53 173rd James TOAL 36:10 175th Sinead TOAL 37:03