14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Weekly Report 20-26 February 2017

On a busy weekend of racing where weather was always likely to have an influence on proceedings several of the North Belfast Harriers participated in races on the country, road and trail.

Stormont Cross Country

First up on Saturday morning was the annual Northern Ireland Civil Service AC cross country event at Stormont. The course was all on grass (and mud) this year making it a proper test of cross country running. Each lap was approximately 1.1miles and consisted of a number of undulations, turns and muddy banks. As is the usual practice the ladies event (over 3 laps) was combined with the race for the V60 men. The club was represented in this one by Matt Shields and Jim Newberry securing first and second places in the V60 category. Matt finished in second place in the race overall with only the ladies winner Sinead Sweeney from Queen’s AC ahead of him at the end. Full results were:

Pos Time Cat Name
1 00:20:06 M60 Matt Shields
2 00:21:37 M60 Jim Newberry

In the male open and vets race (over 4 laps) it was good to see a number of club athletes out including some of the ever improving juniors. The strength in depth was illustrated when the club secured the male team prize: Neil Carty(3rd), Andrew Milligan(7th) and Edward Cooke(8th). Paralympian Michael McKillop was next up in 10th place. Full results were:

Pos Time Cat Name
3 00:24:48 M50 Neil Carty
7 00:25:24 MJ Andrew Milligan
8 00:25:30 MO Edward Cooke
10 00:25:47 MO Michael McKillop
20 00:26:51 MJ Amando Bamisile
40 00:28:50 M55 John Patience
53 00:30:54 M50 Mark Shields
54 00:30:55 MJ Niall Armstrong
Andrew Milligan and Neil Carty collecting the team prize
Andrew Milligan and Neil Carty collecting the team prize


Born 2 Run ‘Run Forest Run’ Castlewellan 10k

The final race of the Run Forest Run series, the Castlewellan 10k trail race, also took place on Saturday morning in the spectacular surroundings of Castlewellan Forest Park. The event was won by David McKee from Mourne Runners in a speedy 35:18 who was followed home by some 560 athletes demonstrating the popularity of these events. Six club athletes made the trip to represent the Harriers and take on the challenge and their results were:

Pos Name   Cat Time
84 Gordon Glenn M45 0:48:03
238 Anthony Fleming M40 0:55:16
248 John Beggs M50 0:55:33
382 Megan Beggs FO 1:01:05
449 Anne Marie Clarken F40 1:05:45
551 Patricia Bingham F40 1:22:50


Sperrin Harriers Parkanaur 10 mile Trail Race

This event marked the fifth and final race of the popular Sperrin Harriers winter league trail series. The series is in it’s eighth year with the 10m race formerly a 4-lap run around Lough Fea near Cookstown but now in it’s second year as a 3-lap run in the Parkanaur Forest near Dungannon. The runners start in the courtyard before heading into the forest, past the deer enclosure, along the Torrent River, past Saint Patrick’s Well and through the ornamental gardens, returning to the courtyard for 2 more laps.

Around 140 runners raced in the prevailing blustery conditions, with wins for Vincent McAlister (unaffiliated) in the male race in an impressive time of 57:17 and Karen Alexander (Acorns AC)  in the female race in 62:46. Martsje Hell had a fine race to take second place for the club in the female open in 65:25. Robert Irvine secured first place in the M55 category in 70:42 with Helen Weir in 2nd place in the F45 category in 74:41. Full results for club athletes were:

Pos Time Name   Cat
15 1:05:25.00 Martsje Hell FO
27 1:10:42.00 Robert Irvine M55
41 1:14:41.00 Helen F Weir F45
94 1:28:09.00 Lynn McCullough F45
102 1:29:52.00 Philip McIlwrath M40
DNF Nisha Sharma FO


NBH at Parkanaur with Orangegrove friends
NBH at Parkanaur with Orangegrove friends

EAMS World Marathon Day

With Sunday being the 26th of February (26.2) what better reason to hold a marathon event and EAMS duly obliged. Despite fairly horrendous weather conditions around 80 brave athletes took on the marathon challenge with a similar number taking on the associated half marathon. It was a family affair in the McKinstry household with Tucker coming home in 2:03:05 and Lorna completing the course in 2:27:35.

Slieve Gallion Challenge 5k and 10k

Also on Sunday, and enjoying similar weather conditions (i.e. grim) St Martin’s GAC hosted the annual Desertmartin 5k and 10k events. Representing the club in the 5k, Joanne McGurk came home in 30:10 for 67th place overall, while in the 10k Shane Donnelly took a fine win in 36:36.


A total of 47 club athletes completed a parkrun on Saturday morning, the majority at the Waterworks. The full results were:

Waterworks parkrun, Belfast # 333 – 25/02/2017

6 Odhran CATNEY 19:27 PB stays at 00:19:21
8 Frankie SMYTH 19:39 PB stays at 00:19:28
14 Cian MCGRATH 20:58 PB stays at 00:20:33
17 Gerard SOWNEY 21:25 PB stays at 00:20:47
25 Daniel O’CALLAGHAN 22:42 New PB!
27 Lyle CARLETON 22:45 PB stays at 00:22:33
33 Piaras MCSHANE 22:56 PB stays at 00:18:27
40 Tony REID 23:30 PB stays at 00:21:50
73 Donna MCLAUGHLIN 26:18 PB stays at 00:24:32
82 Greg TURNER 26:49 PB stays at 00:26:16
88 Joan GRIEVE 27:16 PB stays at 00:27:08
89 Bronagh CONLON 27:20 New PB!
120 Thomas MCKINSTRY 29:24 PB stays at 00:23:09
122 John Gerard MURPHY 29:27 PB stays at 00:18:49
123 Jason REID 29:27 PB stays at 00:21:46
126 Lynn MCKENNA 29:41 PB stays at 00:28:54
128 Trisha MURRAY 29:56 PB stays at 00:28:39
130 Ciara SEYMOUR 30:06 PB stays at 00:29:44
133 Monica O’KANE 30:17 PB stays at 00:29:46
135 Lynn MCCULLOUGH 30:19 PB stays at 00:23:37
138 Joanne MCGURK 30:22 PB stays at 00:28:45
148 Nisha SHARMA 31:10 New PB!
149 Jacqueline LAWLOR 31:18 PB stays at 00:28:58
151 Michael LAWLOR 31:19 PB stays at 00:25:44
160 Margaret STEPHENS 31:53 PB stays at 00:28:23
165 Catherine O BOYLE 32:53 PB stays at 00:32:11
175 Eadaoin DONALDSON 34:33 PB stays at 00:24:26
176 Bernadette DUFFY 34:34 PB stays at 00:29:29
183 James TOAL 36:01 PB stays at 00:30:52
186 Mick MURRAY 36:59 PB stays at 00:28:38

Queen’s parkrun, Belfast # 258 – 25/02/2017

15 Philip Patrick DONNELLY 20:27 PB stays at 00:18:34
47 John LAVERY 23:32 PB stays at 00:20:04
84 Jim CLINTON 25:17 PB stays at 00:22:42
101 Joe WILSON 26:34 First Timer!

Wallace parkrun, Lisburn # 197 – 25/02/2017

5 John MCCONNELL 19:51 PB stays at 00:18:24

MUSA Cookstown parkrun # 178 – 25/02/2017

1 Cathaoir PURVIS 17:12 PB stays at 00:16:51

Ormeau parkrun # 192 – 25/02/2017

42 Colin SIMPSON 22:36 PB stays at 00:19:51
70 Athanasia SEVASTAKI 24:01 PB stays at 00:20:21
257 Drew CRAWFORD 34:06 PB stays at 00:27:06

Antrim parkrun # 165 – 25/02/2017

3 Gerard MCNAMARA 19:26 First Timer!

Larne parkrun # 165 – 25/02/2017

1 Ethan GLENN 19:14 New PB!
2 David CLARKE 19:18 PB stays at 00:18:11
16 Harry PLUMB 24:28 PB stays at 00:22:24

Bangor parkrun # 147 – 25/02/2017

45 Matt SHIELDS 23:18 First Timer!
51 Kevin MCCANN 23:42 First Timer!

Valley parkrun, Newtownabbey # 130 – 25/02/2017

3 Rory KANE 19:54 New PB!

Limavady parkrun # 100 – 25/02/2017

179 Rosy RYAN 39:50 First Timer!