14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

RACE REPORT Week ending 7th MAY 2017

NBH Race Report, Week ending Sunday 7th May 2017:

The running week began on Monday 1st May 2017 with the 35th Belfast City Marathon and Relay Event. Saturday 6th May saw the first track event of the season; ANI Open Meet at the Mary Peters Track. The Glenavy Milk Run took place for the first time and there was the usual club participation in parkruns across the country.


The Belfast City Marathon showcased the breadth, depth and inclusivity of our club. We had athletes performing at the very highest level. Kent Swann finished 17th overall and was 5th local man home in the brilliant time of 2:46:00 whilst achieving a 4:52 PB. Greg McClure was 1st V60 in 3:18:59. Louise Smyth finished in 3:03:08 and was 3rd female finisher. Mary Reid finished first in her age category with a time of 4:00:09. A number of athletes ran to the best of their abilities achieving PBs. These included Colleen Thompson, Eadaoin Donaldson and Jennifer Curley. Running their first marathons were Bronagh Conlon, Monica O’Kane, Lyle Carelton, Gordon Glen and Anthony Fleming.

North Belfast Harriers had 10 teams running the Relay Event. They were fundraising for Children Cancer Ward. For some of the runners their leg was the furthest they had ever run and completing that distance was an achievement in the heat. The teams ran together and it was a wonderful sight to see the swathe of yellow vests at each stage of the marathon.

Every one of the runners; the elite, the veterans, the novices, and the relay members appreciated the support of the North Belfast Harriers who came out to cheer and support their colleagues along the road.

(Photo courtesy of NI Running)


MONDAY 1st MAY 2017

17th Kent Swann 2:46:00 4:52 min PB
Thomas McKinstry 5:53 Smurf
Greg McClure 3:18:59 1st V60
Colleen Thompson 4:19:17 11 min PB
Bronagh Conlon 5:03 1st marathon
Moinca O’Kane 5:03 1st marathon
Lyle Carelton 4:43:18 1st marathon
Eadaoin Donaldson 4:29:56 13 min PB
Eimear Nugent 5:11:20 1st marathon
Jennifer Curly 3:42 3 min PB
3rd  Louise Smith 3:03:08
Anthony Fleming 4:43:19
John Burns 4:19:17
Gordon Glen 3:43:00 1st marathon
Padraigin Bingeam 6:43:00 Guide
Arran Rutledge 3:27:15
Paul Carlin 5:06:17
Mary Reid 4:00:09 1st age category
Paul Williams 3:36:38
Stephen Walker 3:36:43
Simon Reeve 3:05:58



NORTHERN IRELAND RUNNING Festival of MilesJohn Black 

On Friday 5th May 2017, a record number of over two hundred competitors descended on the sun s oaked home of athletics in Northern Ireland, the Mary Peters Track, for the 5th annual ‘NiRunning Mile’ which is endorsed by the British Milers Club. For some time it looked as if Derry Track Club’s Martin Cox could run out winner after he set an impressive target of 4:38.88. The Derry Track Club athlete’s time stood until the final race of the night, when a tear up between Shane McGowan (Derry Track Club), John Black (North Belfast Harriers) and Conan McCaughey (Derry Track Club) smashed it, with all three men dipping under it. Shane excelled with a notable performance, leading the field home in 4:29.91 (1st place) – then, in an epic sprint finish, John Black took 2nd place in 4:31.97 and Conan McCaughey 3rd place in 4:32.54. (Photo courtesy of NI Running)

BC MILE: Friday 5th May 2017
1 Shane McGowan Derry Track Club 4:29.91
2 John Black North Belfast Harriers 4:31.97
3 Conan McCaughey Derry Track Club 4:32:54



On Saturday 6th May 2017, the Mary Peters Track was the focus of attention as athletes from all over descended on the famous track for the Athletics NI Open Track & Field Meeting. The event kicked off at 12pm and included 100m, 100m hurdles, 110m hurdles, 200m, 400m, 400m hurdles, 800m, 1500m and 3,000m races, as well as field events. A plethora of athletic talent took part, with some athletes aiming for qualification standards for upcoming events. One of the most notable participants was the current NI & Ulster 10k (Road) Champion Emma Mitchell, who won the 3000m race.

ANI OPEN TRACK & FIELD MEETING Mary Peters Track Saturday 6th May 2017
3000m WOMEN
1 Emma Mitchell QUB 9:11.89
2 Claudia Jalon A D Marathon 9:56.75
3 Denise Toner Clones AC 10:06.08
7 Rebecca Wallace North Belfast Harriers 10:29.55
3000m MEN
16 Connor McCann North Belfast Harriers 9:41.18
18 Conor O’Rawe North Belfast Harriers 10:03.14
800m MEN
4 Michael McKillop North Belfast Harriers 2:01:36
1 Jim McClean North Belfast Harriers 11.31
100m WOMEN
2 Caitlin Maguire North Belfast Harriers 12.59
200m WOMEN
2 Caitlin Maguire North Belfast Harriers 26.53
10 Amando Bamisile North Belfast Harriers 4:37.83




Saturday, May 6th saw the inaugural Glenavy Milk Run. The expressed ethos behind this event is to encourage more people to drink milk and to promote the health benefits both before and after sporting activity.  There were 114 finishers with our own John Miskimmon finishing 3rd in the 10km race. A 5km and Fun Run were also part of the day’s activities.


Glenavy Milk Run Saturday 6th May 2017
1 Stephen Scullion 00:32:59
2 Stephen Nicholson 00:37:43
3 John Miskimmin North Belfast Harriers 00:38:24


PATRICK PEARSE 5km Several of our club members travelled to Dublin to take part in the second Patrick Pearse 5K which took place Sunday 7th May in Rathfarnham.

Samuel Carr 21.24

Sandy Carr 24. 56

Lynn McCullough 25.34

Irene McGreevy 30.54

Trisha Murray 32.26

Mick Murray 33.01

Nisha Sharma 35.16

Jackie Lawlor 35.17

Mick Lawlor 35.18

PARKRUN RESULTS Saturday 6th May 2017

Belfast Victoria

34th Paul WILLIAMS 21:12

106th Philip MCILWRATH 25:03 – New PB

348th Rosy RYAN 47:03

2nd Peter SAVAGE 18:20

94th John GRIBBIN 29:38

138th Alicia KUCHOCHA 34:12

159th Claire BRADY 36:40

27th Ray CAMERON 21:14

19th Roisin HUGHES 26:05

1st Nat GLENN 19:02

10th Harry PLUMB 22:42

6th Laurence JOHNSTON 18:46

69th Mark SHIELDS 23:07

238th Anthony FLEMING 28:50

349th Lynsey FLEMING 32:46

47th Vincent BRADLEY 24:11

88th Ciaran HUNTER 27:11

98th Eadaoin DONALDSON 27:36

4th Martsje HELL 19:24

5th John MCCONNELL 19:48

3rd Simon REEVE 18:36

9th John Gerard MURPHY 19:44

12th Piaras MCSHANE 20:00

19th Niall ARMSTRONG 20:54

21st Greg MCCLURE 21:00

23rd Ita MCCAMBRIDGE 21:27

35th Daniel O’CALLAGHAN 22:08

40th Tony REID 22:34

48th Odhran MOAN 22:58 – New PB

62nd Jack CARBERRY 23:39

67th Lyle CARLETON 23:56

87th Jim CLINTON 24:41

90th Gordon GLENN 24:50

94th Catriona MCCAMBRIDGE 25:07

97th Thomas MCKINSTRY 25:18

99th Terence MCATAMNEY 25:25 – New PB

120th Joe WILSON 26:40

152nd David JOHNSTON 28:30

164th Chris O’DONOGHUE 29:11

167th Magdalena BISEWSKA 29:19

173rd Jacqueline LAWLOR 29:33

174th Michael LAWLOR 29:34

184th Paddy MCCAMBRIDGE 29:44

193rd Gemma LOWE 30:21

200th Emma TONER 31:18

202nd Orla YOUNG 31:26

205th Bernadette DUFFY 31:52

209th Joanne MCGURK 32:35

210th Megan BEGGS 32:36

211st Bronagh CONLON 32:36

219th John BEGGS 33:16 221st

Dermot MCGRATH 33:19 223rd

Dirdre MURPHY 33:44

243rd Jason REID 37:02



62nd Sandy CARR 23:18 – New PB

63rd Sam CARR 23:19