14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

NBH weekly race report, 21st – 27th August 2017

Making the most of the last days of summer, NBH travelled to races by land and sea – storming castles, roaming islands and racing round parks.


Magheralin 5km, Magheralin, Co. Down

Eimear Nugent had a productive start to her weekend taking advantage of the Magheralin 5km race on Friday night to finish in 77th place (28:43). The race was won by James Monaghan of St. Peters AC (17:20) and Susan Smyth of Dromore AC (19:44).


Great East Run, Killyleagh Half Marathon, Co. Down

The Killyleagh half marathon took place on Saturday. The race was won by Aaron McGrady of East Down AC (1:17:50) and Amanda Perry of Ballydrain Harriers (1:30:43). Neil Carty took part in this race and ran a great time of 1:20:25 to secure his age category win and take 5th place overall.


Frank Duffy 10 mile race, Phoenix Park, Co. Dublin

On Saturday the Frank Duffy 10 mile race was held in Phoenix Park, Dublin. It’s a popular build up race for the Dublin marathon and attracts large crowds and a competitive field. The race was won by two NI runners, Stephen Scullion took the win (50:37) and the ladies race was won by Laura Graham from Mourne Runners (58:50). Among the five and a half thousand competitors were four NBH runners who travelled to Dublin that morning.

Andrew Annett took 6th position overall in a scintillating time of 53:44, with Lindsay Gordon not far behind in 7th position (53:53). Nat Glenn had a great race finishing strong to get under the hour mark in 37th position (59:57), while also taking second position in his age category, Nat crossed the line with a chip time of 59:34. Paul Curley was the fourth NBH across the line as he solidified his marathon preparation with a great run to take 481st position in a time of 1:12:00.



Rathlin Run 10 mile, Rathlin Co. Antrim

On Saturday morning a large number of runners headed for Ballycastle harbour to board a boat for a race on Rathlin Island. The supremely well organised event was hosted by NiRunning with the help of the Belfast Activity Centre and a large number of Rathlin locals. The 10 mile and 5km races attracted over two hundred and fifty competitors who were treated to good weather, a challenging course, fantastic hospitality and views of the NI coast line and farther afield the Scottish Kintyre Peninsula (I think…).


Inspired by the local bearded mountain goats who stared bemused from the fields along the course, NBH own Philip Goss summited hill after hill along the out and back route, to clinch 1st position and a new course record in a time of 57:57. The first lady to cross the line was Gerrie Short from Beechmount Harriers in 1:12:16. NBH own Helen Weir was the second lady across the line and also won her age category. Robert and Geoff both took 2nd place in their age category’s as well. After the race a few were seen to cool themselves down with a dip in the water and a cold glass of something from the pub.



Photos from NBH public facebook page

Pos. Name Time
1 Philip Goss 00:57:57
9 Marc Jennings 01:06:59
22 Robert Irvine 01:13:08
27 Helen F Weir 01:13:55
41 Geoff Swann 01:19:34
91 Nichola Swann 01:29:28



Storming the Castle 10km race, Carrickfergus, Co. Antrim


Photo from Greg McClure, NBH facebook group


Close to eight hundred runners attended this fast 10km race in the sea side town of Carrickfergus. NBH own Kent Swann continued his great run of form to clinch the top spot on the podium, charging toward the 12th century Norman Castle to finish in a time of 34:54. The ladies top spot was secured by Ann Terek from the City of Lisburn AC in a time of 39:40. The event attracted twenty-nine NBH runners who made the short trip. Among the wider successes of the club, Kent was joined on the podium by the talented new joiner to the club; Joe Malone. Joe had yet another impressive race to take 3rd place (35:11). See below for the great list of performances:

Photo from Greg McClure, NBH facebook group

Pos Firstname Lastname Finish
1 Kent Swann 00:34:54
3 Joe Malone 00:35:11


7 John McGuigan 00:38:01
78 John Steeele 00:44:56
107 Terence McAtamney 00:46:50
140 Anthony Fleming 00:48:07
160 Matthew Carleton 00:48:54
212 Odhran Stockman 00:51:04
248 Sandy Plumb 00:52:39
296 John Beggs 00:54:14
312 Fiona Magill 00:54:37
318 Philip McIlwrath 00:54:53
373 Eadaoin Donaldson 00:57:19
488 Sonia Millar 01:02:05
495 Linda Beggs 01:02:16
532 Philomena Donaldson 01:03:49
557 Ciara Seymour 01:04:41
559 Sharon Hobbs 01:04:59
631 Roberta Toan 01:08:14
632 Emma Toner 01:08:14
633 Anne Marie Clarken 01:08:14
669 Lorna McGrath 01:11:05
682 Caroline Hill 01:12:19
685 Paula O’Reilly 01:12:39
687 Catherine Carleton 01:12:42
710 Leeanne Magee 01:16:27
711 Elaine Crawford 01:16:27
712 Pauline McKeating 01:16:27
756 Marilyn Foster 01:22:54
757 Gemma Doherty 01:22:54


Jog Belfast Announcement

Jog Belfast September programmes at Girls Model and Girdwood are filling up fast. Register at https://register.primoevents.com/ps/event/JogBelfastSeptember2017  – No better way to get active and fit among friends.


Parkrun @ various locations:

As ever the NBH attended parkrun events in their droves. This Saturday saw 13 new PBs, well done all!


Belfast victoria

26th Ciaran HUNTER 20:40

30th Colin SIMPSON 20:50

229th Drew CRAWFORD 33:05



176th Eadaoin DONALDSON 27:12 – New PB

177th Philip MCILWRATH 27:12

257th Philomena DONALDSON 30:23 – New PB

344th Rosy RYAN 42:51



31st Paul WILLIAMS 21:48



27th Elaine HOLMES 26:59



2nd Ethan GLENN 20:29

7th Penny LINDSAY 22:31

20th John STEELE 27:00

23rd Sandy PLUMB 28:15



20th Damien GILL 20:31



52nd Lynn MCCULLOUGH 30:16



4th Matthew LAVERY 18:25

7th David CURRAN 19:17

10th Ray CAMERON 19:39

14th Max REID 20:05 – New PB

16th Piaras MCSHANE 20:10

18th Drew KNOX 20:17

19th Sam CARR 20:24 – New PB

23rd Joe DRAIN 20:57

25th Martin O’NEILL 21:10 – New PB

33rd Jack CARBERRY 21:41

42nd Greg MCCLURE 22:29

47th Tony REID 22:44

49th Kevin MCCANN 22:49

50th Simon REEVE 22:51

51st Emma SHEEHY 22:53 – New PB

71st Lyle CARLETON 24:25

77th Joe WILSON 24:47

91st Odhran MOAN 25:24

103rd David JOHNSTON 25:54 – New PB

110th Nial O NEILL 26:10 – New PB

112nd Clare O’HARA 26:13 – New PB

119th Gerard MCNAMARA 26:27

120th Jim CLINTON 26:28

123rd Chris O’DONOGHUE 26:57

127th Thomas MCKINSTRY 27:08

136th Thomas Peter NORTON 28:03 – New PB

144th Niamh MCAULEY 28:19 – New PB

154th Paul ARMSTRONG 29:06

155th Leona KNOX 29:11 – New PB

164th Katrina MCAULEY 30:13

165th Matthew HIGGINS 30:15

169th Nuala MAHON 30:25

171st Monica O’KANE 30:35

179th Dirdre MURPHY 30:59

180th Sandy CARR 31:13

181st Gabrielle MALLAGHAN 31:14

182nd Margaret STEPHENS 31:22

183rd Jacqueline LAWLOR 31:23

184th Catherine O BOYLE 31:45 – New PB

187th Bernadette DUFFY 32:00

196th Dermot MCGRATH 32:36



2nd Laurence JOHNSTON 18:58