14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

NBH weekly race report, 25th September – 1st October 2017, Racing up and down the County Down:

NBH runners raced among the roads and the mountains of County Down this past week, achieving some great results in the process.


Bangor 10km, Bangor, Co. Down.

On Saturday morning NBH runners headed to the shores of north County Down, to race amongst one thousand other runners in the annual Bangor 10km organised by North Down AC. This well organised race attracted some of the top athletic talent in NI and offered a scenic route, with a tough hill to tackle at 9km.

The race at the front was won convincingly by Gideon Kipsang from Derry Track Club (30:02), while Laura Graham from Mourne Runners continued her impressive run of performances to clinch the ladies’ race (34:35).

Over thirty NBH runners headed to the seaside town and were well rewarded with great running conditions for the time of year, with pleasant temperatures and an odd lack of a coastal breeze. While the hill at 9km was still ever present, it made the performances all the more worthwhile as the runners crested the summit and headed left towards the finish line at Ward Park. Mark McKinstry just missed out on a podium place, and led the NBH home in 4th position, while David Clarke took another well-deserved age category win. See below for all the impressive performances in the Autumn sun.

Pos Firstname LastName Finish Chiptime 5km
4 Mark McKinstry 00:32:35 00:32:34 00:15:42
13 Marc Jennings 00:34:28 00:34:23 00:16:55
16 Kent Swan 00:34:40 00:34:40 00:16:40
18 Thomas Simmons 00:35:20 00:35:18 00:16:55
24 David Clarke 00:35:54 00:35:50 00:17:39
37 Stephen Walker 00:37:41 00:37:37 00:18:26
40 Laurence Johnston 00:37:56 00:37:52 00:18:46
135 Penelope Lindsay 00:43:13 00:43:01 00:21:27
145 Colin Simpson 00:43:34 00:43:12 00:21:53
153 April Clarke 00:43:42 00:43:31 00:21:29
167 John Steele 00:44:12 00:43:58 00:21:48
185 Carol Clarke 00:45:20 00:45:09 00:22:02
237 Anthony Fleming 00:47:38 00:46:21 00:24:25
238 Alexander Plumb 00:47:38 00:47:26 00:24:09
257 Lyle Carleton 00:48:08 00:46:51 00:24:43
371 Gerry Anderson 00:51:20 00:49:52 00:26:18
450 Maurice Palmer 00:53:23 00:51:47 00:27:09
493 Philip McIlwrath 00:54:29 00:53:11
502 Matthew Carleton 00:54:36
601 Gillian Somerville 00:57:09 00:56:02 00:28:57
644 Joanne McAllister 00:58:23 00:57:02 00:29:37
650 Paul Armstrong 00:58:32 00:57:11 00:29:53
651 Thomas Norton 00:58:32 00:56:56 00:30:18
837 Marian McCaig 01:04:55 01:03:32 00:32:29
869 Julie Roy 01:06:02 01:04:29 00:32:47
877 Yvonne Barclay 01:06:19 01:04:56 00:32:30
892 Karen Tracey 01:06:57 01:05:25 00:34:06
917 Colette Crossan 01:07:54 01:06:18 00:33:31
976 Maura Roscoe 01:11:26 01:09:53 00:34:33
1002 Cecilia Gourley 01:13:18 01:11:46 00:35:45
1003 Roisin Rooney 01:13:18 01:11:45 00:35:46
1006 Caroline Hill 01:14:05 01:12:30
1060 Charlene Kearney 01:24:42 01:23:06 00:43:52
1075 Rosy Ryan 01:35:07 01:33:31 00:46:54

(Photo from North Down AC facebook page, by Steven Donegan) 


Commedagh Chase Mountain Race 2017, County Down

At the other end of County Down in the equally picturesque Mourne Mountains, the final race of the Northern Ireland Mountain Running Association Championships took place on Saturday. This course started on the Trassey Track and headed via the Hares Gap towards Commedagh, the Mournes’ second highest peak.

The race was won with a short lead by Ian Bailey from Newcastle AC (57:46). The women’s race was secured by Shileen O’Kane from Lagan Valley AC (1:15:36).

NBH had three runners in the field of sixty people, with Martsje Hell pressuring at the front of the women’s race; Martsje finished second across the line in a fantastic time of 1:20:03.  Shane Donnelly took 5th position (1:06:24) and Simon Reeve finished in 14th position (01:14:36). A successful day out in the mountains for all.


(photo from NIMRA website)


Run-Anon Lough View Run, Lough Neagh, Crumlin

On Sunday three NBH runners took to the shores of Lough Neagh to race from Crumlin Glen along the shore line. John Patience took 5th place in a time of 40:50 and Eileen Keenan took 121st overall in a time of 1:05:29. Gemma Lowe also raced and finished in 122nd place (1:05:29).


Great Scottish Run 2017 / Glasgow half marathon

Two NBH runners made the trip over to Glasgow to participate in the Great Scottish Run, and to tackle the half marathon course. In what appeared to be very difficult conditions, the Donaldson family sailed through the puddles to secure brilliant times. Eadaoin finished in position 4004 in a time of 1:59:02 and Philomena improved by 3 minutes on her last half marathon, to take position 5340 in a time of 2:08:23.


Royals Cross Country Challenge, McAlpine Park, Charlotte, North Carolina, USA:

NBH runner Conal McCambridge is flexing both his brain power and hamstrings while on scholarship studying in NC, USA at the Queens University of Charlotte. Conal is a member of the Queens Cross Country team, the ‘Royals’. On Friday Conal helped his team clinch first place in the team competition with a time of 25:19 over the 5 mile / 8km course, finishing 6th on his team.


Parkrun @ various locations:

As ever the NBH attended parkrun events in their droves. This Saturday saw 4 new PBs.


Belfast Victoria

101st Paul WILLIAMS 25:30

35th David JOHNSTON 33:53

10th Trisha CAMPBELL 22:52

33rd Lauren COX 21:30

11th Eamon MCCAMBRIDGE 22:12 – New PB

20th Paddy MCCAMBRIDGE 23:00

22nd Ita MCCAMBRIDGE 23:04

44th Catriona MCCAMBRIDGE 24:54

48th Brendan MCCAMBRIDGE 25:09

51st Ciaran HUNTER 25:13

24th Odhran STOCKMAN 27:11

5th John SLOAN 18:19 – New PB

15th John Gerard MURPHY 19:43

22nd Drew KNOX 20:32

24th Sam CARR 20:38

28th Matthew LAVERY 20:59

29th Daniel O’CALLAGHAN 21:06 – New PB

34th Martin O’NEILL 21:19

39th Jack CARBERRY 21:29

48th Tony REID 22:39

49th Orla CASH 22:42

52nd Greg MCCLURE 22:55

55th Kevin MCCANN 23:03

79th Mia MCDOWELL 24:29

114th Clare O’HARA 26:09

158th Nuala MAHON 28:07

159th Michael LAWLOR 28:11

167th Heather WILSON 28:43

168th Magdalena BISEWSKA 28:44

171st Jim CLINTON 28:53

174th Gemma LOWE 28:59 – New PB

186th Margaret STEPHENS 30:32

190th Trisha MURRAY 30:38

194th Gordon GLENN 30:43

197th Bernadette DUFFY 30:50

198th Monica O’KANE 30:57

210th James TOAL 32:20

220th Dermot MCGRATH 33:34

238th Padraigin BINGHAM 36:11

239th Adrienne MARTIN-POOTS 36:12

253rd Thomas MCKINSTRY 39:23

254th Sinead TOAL 39:42



42nd John LAVERY 27:09


Springburn parkrun, Glasgow

Pos 75 Philomena DONALDSON 32:10

Pos 76 Eadaoin DONALDSON      32:11