14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Ice ice baby

NBH Race Report, 11th December – 17th December 2017

After a week of cancellations, the Harriers were back out at running with two cross country races being the main events this week.


Irish Life AAI National Uneven Age Group & Novice XC Championships 2017


Oisin Duffy (City of Derry AC), Sean McGinley (Olympian YC) and Conall McClean (St Malachy’s AC) secured National gold medals as local athletes and clubs picked up and impressive haul of medals at the Irish Life AAI National Uneven Age Group & Novice XC Championships in Waterford today (Sunday 17th December 2017).

In the Novice Men’s competition, North Belfast Harriers claimed 2nd place in the team rankings.

Firstname Surname Club Pos Finish
Philip Goss North Belfast Harriers 13 20:28
John Black North Belfast Harriers 15 20:34
Eamon White North Belfast Harriers 26 21:01
Andrew Milligan North Belfast Harriers 39 21:27
Joe Malone North Belfast Harriers 89 22:20
Andrew Considine North Belfast Harriers 119 23:05


Team Prize
Dundrum South Dublin A.C. 76 points
North Belfast Harriers 93 points
Leevale A.C. 126 points



North West XC 2017


City of Derry AC’s held its annual North West XC Championships in Gransha Grounds, Derry / Londonderry on Saturday 16th December 2017 with a great day of running for all competitors.


Top honours were claimed in the inaugural Bobby Farren and Brendan Duddy Perpetual Cups by Foyle Valley AC men and City of Derry AC Spartans ladies claimed top team honours in the feature ‘Open’ race leaving the prizes on home soil.  Conditions were muddy underfoot although the runners did not have to contend with the rain on due to dry spells during the day.


Neil Johnston from Springwell Running Club was on form taking the individual men’s top prize, claiming victory in 18:39 (1st place).  Declan Reed followed in 18:46 (2nd place), with Chris McGuinness of Foyle Valley AC coming in close behind at 19:02 (3rd place). Foyle Valley AC won the team title and the brand new Bobby Farren Snr Perpetual Cup which was presented by Michael Farren on behalf of the Farren family.



Firstname Surname Club Pos Finish
Joe Smith North Belfast Harriers 101 25:30
Eadaoin Donaldson North Belfast Harriers 188 35:06
Philomena Donaldson North Belfast Harriers 193 35:42


Born 2 Run Kilbroney Park 10K & 5K 2017

The fourth race in the run forest run series hosted by Born 2 Run took place at Kilbroney Park near Rostrevor with four North Belfast Harriers adding the Santa themed medal to their collection.

10K Race

Position First Name Last Name Finish Time Chiptime
90 Anthony Fleming 0:50:15 0:49:36
197 Richard Rogers 0:57:17 0:57:14
315 John Beggs 1:08:34 1:08:06
316 Anne Marie Clarken 1:08:35 1:08:05

Kilmood Santa Dash 10K & 5K

Two harriers made it out to the hilly course at Kilmood Santa Dash in County Down with proceeds from the race going to the local playgroup.

10K Race

Position First Name Last Name Finish Time
28 Philip McIlwrath 0:53:23


5K Race

Position First Name Last Name Finish Time
61 Rosy Ryan 0:43:50





Last week we had a parkrun snow day and this week the black ice cancelled many parkruns due to the dangerous conditions but that wasn’t going to stop Helen F Weir celebrating her 100th Parkrun at Stormont.  Many congratulations Helen! Thank you to Brian Weir for the photo.


142th George Walker 35:53



30th Eva Kissenpfennig 21:36
66th Tony Reid 23:51
155th Philip McIlwrath 27:52
303th Rosy Ryan 49:21



7th Carol Clarke 23:04



11th John Gerard Murphy 19:29
43th Helen F Weir 21:39 100th Parkrun
52th Paul Williams 22:14
84th Greg McClure 23:51
131th Matt Shields 25:41
133th Jim Clinton 25:43


Christmas Party

North Belfast Harriers celebrated Christmas with the award of a specially designed club participation medal.  This hard earned medal was awarded to those that took place in a number of different events outlined by the club at the start of the year.

Club particpation medals awarded to:

Eadaoin Clare Donaldson, Elaine Holmes, Ita McCambridge, Sandy Carr & Una McConnell.

Andrew Considine, Colin Willets, David Clarke, Gary Blythe, Greg McClure, Joe Smith, John Beggs, John Black, Lyle Carlton, Marc Jennings, Mark McKinstry, Neil Carty, Patrick McCambridge, Philip McIlwrath, Phillip Goss & Ray Cameron.