14 Oldpark Terrace, Belfast BT14 6NN

Tracey wins Jimmy’s 10k / Caitlin takes Irish bronze

Caitlin Maguire takes bronze in the 100m

Tracey Atkinson was the first lady home at the prestigious Jimmy’s 10k on Sunday, while on Saturday Caitlin Maguire took bronze in the national U23 championships and Sandy Carr completed the 55-mile Loop of the Lough.

NatIonal Junior + U23 Championships

The AAI National junior (U20) and U23 championships took place over the weekend at Santry. Caitlin Maguire ran a fine 100m in the warm conditions to take the bronze medal in a time of 12.20s. The club was also well represented in the junior men’s 5000m with Matthew Lavery fastest home in a time of 15:27.51 and all 3 NBH athletes in the top 12.

Full results of the 5000m were:

PlaceBib #NameCategoryResult
5477Matthew LAVERYBU1915:27.51
11478Fionntan CAMPBELLSEN M15:58.68
12468Luke KELLYBU1816:07.39
Atlas Running Loop the Lough 2021

It was an early start on Saturday morning as around 70 competitors set out from Strangford, heading for Portaferry. They weren’t taking the ferry route, however, their challenge was to negotiate a 55-mile, sometimes undulating loop round Strangford Lough, taking in Comber, Newtownards and Greyabbey. Endurance specialist Sandy Carr conquered the distance, terrain and the warm, humid conditions to complete in a super time of 10h16m14s.

Jimmy’s 10k

Jimmy’s 10 2021 took place on Sunday at the Bishopscourt Racing Circuit outside Downpatrick. Conditions were again on the warm side for racing but it didn’t deter the 6 harriers who took on the 3-lap course. Star performance came from Tracey Atkinson who held off a strong challenge from Caroline MacNabb of host club East Down AC to take the ladies race in an impressive 38m47s. Aaron Rush and Gareth Lyons both finished in the top 30 of the men’s race, only 1 second apart and clocking just outside the 35-minute mark.

Full results were:

PosAthleteCatChiptimeFirst 5kSecond 5k
29Aaron RushMO35:0717:1817:48
30Gareth LyonsM4035:0817:1417:54
54Tracey AtkinsonF4038:4719:2619:25
69Rory KaneM4539:2419:3719:50
128Carol ClarkeF5544:5522:0722:52
272Thomas NortonM4053:0326:3726:35